Young investigators


  • Anonymous


Eleven of 211 Presidential Young Investigators for 1990 are scientists in geophysical fields. The awards, administered by the National Science Foundation, are to help universities attract and retain outstanding young faculty members who might otherwise pursue nonteaching careers.

The geophysical research of the young investigators includes fluid dynamics, glaciology, ice mechanics, neotectonics, earthquake engineering, geodynamics, planetary science, plasma wave observation, and sedimentation.