AGU Council assumes duties July 1


  • Anonymous


The newly elected members of the AGU Council, the governing body of the Union, assumed their offices on July 1, 1990. The Council has full authority for all AGU affairs and is the official representative of the Union in its external affairs. Composed of the six member Executive Committee and officers of the 10 sections, the Council meets twice a year at the Spring and Fall meetings. The Executive Committee meets two additional times between the annual meetings.

The current members of the Council serve two-year terms through June 30, 1992. Each new section President-Elect serves 2 years in that capacity and then 2 years as section President. The current Council was elected by AGU members in December 1989 and announced earlier this year.