Representatives of 69 countries, five United Nations organizations, and eight international non-governmental organizations (NGO) met March 19–24, 1990, in Paris, France, at the headquarters of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization to evaluate and approve projects for the fourth phase of the International Hydrological Program (IHP-IV), which will be active during 1990–1995. The International Association of Hydrological Sciences was represented by AGU members and IAHS officers Vit Klemes, President, University of Victoria, Victoria, Canada; Henny Colenbrander, Secretary General, TNO, The Hague, The Netherlands; and Ivan Johnson, Honorary President, A. Ivan Johnson, Inc., Arvada, Colo. The International Water Resources Association was represented by AGU member and IWRA Secretary General Glenn Stout, IWRA, Urbana, 111. The U.S. representatives (observer status) were David Rickert, U.S. Geological Survey, Reston, Va., and Glenn Stout.