Eos, Transactions American Geophysical Union

Extend your commitment to AGU


  • Anonymous


Voluntary contributions are essential for AGU to maintain and enhance its many innovative programs. In addition to unrestricted contributions to AGU, contributions may be designated to one or more of the special funds. One such fund is the Mineral and Rock Physics Fund.

The Mineral and Rock Physics Fund was established to support an annual award recognizing either one or two outstanding young scientists in Mineral and Rock Physics, broadly defined. Nominations are solicited each year for current graduate students, or recent graduates within one year of their Ph.D. degree, and are reviewed by a subcommittee of the AGU Committee on Mineral and Rock Physics. In 1998, the awardees were Tye Gribb (University of Wisconsin-Madison) and Abby Kavner (University of California-Berkeley). They join Donald Isaak (1990), Thomas Duffy (1991), Michael Kruger (1992), Kathleen Kingma (1993), Andy Hsi-Tien Shen and Andrei Zerr (1994), Nick Beeler and Nobumasa Funamori (1995), Baosheng Li (1996), Ljuba Kerschhofer, and Wenlu Zhu (1997) on the roster of promising colleagues helping to define the future of mineral and rock physics.