Standard Article

Geraniales (Geranium)

  1. Freek T Bakker

Published Online: 26 MAR 2003

DOI: 10.1038/npg.els.0003716



How to Cite

Bakker, F. T. 2003. Geraniales (Geranium). eLS. .

Author Information

  1. National Herbarium Nederland, Wageningen University Branch, The Netherlands

Publication History

  1. Published Online: 26 MAR 2003


The angiosperm order Geraniales, as currently informally recognized, contains about 800 species, some of which are of economical and horticultural importance. Geraniales mainly comprises three families: Geraniaceae (geraniums, pelargoniums), Melianthaceae, a family of 18 species, Ledocarpaceae totalling 12 species in three genera, and Vivianiaceae, a small family containing a single genus with six species.


  • geranium;
  • pelargonium;
  • geraniaceae;
  • melianthaceae;
  • vivianiaceae;
  • ledocarpaceae