• Cenozoic;
  • Chronostratigraphy;
  • Gssp;
  • Mesozoic;
  • Paleozoic;
  • Precambrian

Each chronostratigraphic unit of the International Geologic Time Scale will be defined at its base by a Global Stratotype Section and Point (GSSP) or Global Standard Stratigraphic Age (GSSA). Nearly 50 GSSPs and 10 GSSAs have now been ratified. Ideally, the GSSP coincides with events having a global correlation potential. The international stage divisions of some systems, such as the Jurassic or Neogene, are similar to traditional usage in European geology. However, in order to utilize global correlation horizons, the international stage divisions of other systems, such as the Ordovician or Permian, have required assembling new stage nomenclatures or hybrids of different regional stages. A reference table by the International Commission on Stratigraphy itemizes the current or potential GSSP and GSSA definitions of all international geologic time units.