Issue Information


Neil Gow

School of Medical Sciences

Institute of Medical Sciences


University of Aberdeen


AB25 2ZD

United Kingdom


Sergio Grinstein

The Hospital for Sick Children Research Institute

555 University Avenue

Toronto, ON M5G 1X8



Jacomine Krijnse Locker

Department of Infectious Diseases

Virology & Electron Microscopy CoreFacility

Im Neuenheimer Feld 324

69120 Heidelberg



Central Editorial Office

Ms Andrea Lewis

Associate Managing Editor

Cellular Microbiology Central Editorial Office,

Wiley Blackwell

9600 Garsington Road

Oxford OX4 2DQ


Fax +44 1865 714591


Philippe Sansonetti

Co-Founding Editor

Unité de Pathogénie

Microbienne Moléculaire,

INSERM U 389, Institut Pasteur,

28 rue du Dr Roux,

75724 Paris Cédex 15,


Tel +33 1 40 61 30 95

Fax +33 1 45 68 89 53


Editorial Assistant

Colette Jacquemin

Tel +33 1 40 61 30 95

Fax +33 1 45 68 89 53


Artur Scherf

Biology of Host-Parasite

Interactions Unit


25 rue du Docteur Roux

F-75724 Paris Cédex 15


Tel +33 1 45 68 86 16

Fax +33 1 45 68 83 48


Feng Shao

National Institute of Biological Sciences (NIBS)

No. 7 Science Park Road

Zhongguancun Life Science Park

Beijing 102206


Tel +86 10 80726688 8560

Fax +86 10 80728046


Production Contact

Production Editor:

Milanie Sta. Ana-Maniquiz


L. David Sibley

Review Editor

Department of Molecular Microbiology

Washington University School of Medicine

Box 8230

660 S. Euclid Ave.

St. Louis, MO 63110


Tel +1 314 362 8873

Fax +1 314 362 1232


Review Editorial Assistant

Janet Whealen

Tel +1 314 286 0059

Fax +1 314 286 0060


Thierry Soldati

Department of Biochemistry Sciences II

30 Quai Ernest-Ansermet

1211 Geneva 4


Tel +1(0)22 3796496

Fax +1(0)22 3796470


Richard S. Stephens

Co-Founding Editor

Division of Infectious Diseases

16 Barker Hall

University of California

Berkeley, CA 94720-7354


Fax +1 510 643 1537


Editorial Assistant

Ms. Bernice M.F. Hoft

16 Barker Hall

University of California

Berkeley, CA 94720-7354


Fax +1 510 643 1537


Editorial Board

Philippe Bastin Paris, France

Sigal Ben-Yehuda Jerusalem, Israel

Gerald Byrne Tennessee, USA

Chetan Chitnis New Delhi, India

Maria Colombo Mendoza, Argentina

Brendan Cormack Baltimore, USA

Pascale Cossart Paris, France

Christoph Dehio Basel, Switzerland

Maurizio del Poeta South Carolina, USA

Michel Desjardins Montreal, Canada

Tamara Doering St. Louis, USA

Joanne Engel San Francisco, USA

Joel Ernst New York, USA

Stanley Falkow Stanford, USA

B. Brett Finlay Vancouver, Canada

Alberto Frasch Buenos Aires, Argentina

Freddy Frischknecht Heidelberg, Germany

Gisou van der Goot Lausanne, Switzerland

Jean-Pierre Gorvel Marseille, France

Kay Grunewald Oxford, UK

Nancy Guillén Paris, France

Maximiliano Gutierrez London, UK

Ted Hackstadt Hamilton, USA

Volker Heussler Bern, Switzerland

David Holden London, UK

Bernard Hube Jena, Germany

Ralph Isberg Boston, USA

Bruce Klein Wisconsin, USA

Jean Paul Latge Paris, France

Bruno Lemaitre Lausanne, Switzerland

Elena Levashina Strasbourg, France

Stephan Ludwig Münster, Germany

Jason Mackenzie Victoria, Australia

Thomas Meyer Berlin, Germany

Musa Mhlanga Pretoria, South Africa

Valerie Mizrahi Johannesburg, South Africa

Cesare Montecucco Padova, Italy

Maria Mota Lisbon, Portugal

Jeremy Mottram Glasgow, UK

Olivier Neyrolles Paris, France

Guy Palmer Pullman, USA

Vincent Piguet Cardiff, UK

Daniel Portnoy Berkeley, USA

Lalita Ramakrishnan Washington, USA

Rino Rappuoli Siena, Italy

Maria Rescigno Milan, Italy

Jose M. C. Ribeiro Bethesda, USA

Craig Roy New Haven, USA

David Russell Ithaca, USA

David Sacks Bethesda, USA

Mario Schelhaas Münster, Germany

Sergio Schenkman São Paulo, Brazil

Louis Schofield Melbourne, Australia

Anita Sil San Francisco, USA

Beate Sodeik Hannover, Germany

Dominique Soldati-Favre Geneva, Switzerland

Boris Striepen Athens, USA

Paula Sundstrom Hanover, USA

Joel Swanson Ann Arbor, USA

Emily Troemel La Jolla, USA

Michael Way London, UK

Tamotsu Yoshimori Osaka, Japan

Arturo Zychlinksy Berlin, Germany


Cellular Microbiology aims to publish outstanding contributions to the understanding of interactions between microbes and eukaryotic cells and tissues in the context of pathogenic or symbiotic relationships, including the use of model hosts. Submission on cell biological aspects of microbes, such as their intracellular organization or the establishment and maintenance of their architecture are also encouraged. Contributions must provide mechanistic insights obtained through imaging, cellular, biochemical, structural or genetic approaches.


The Publisher and Editors cannot be held responsible for errors or any consequences arising from the use of information contained in this Journal; the views and opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect those of the Publisher and Editors, neither does the publication of advertisements constitute any endorsement by the Publisher and Editors of the products advertised.


Copyright © 2014 John Wiley & Sons Ltd. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored or transmitted in any form or by any means without the prior permission in writing from the copyright holder. Authorization to copy items for internal and personal use is granted by the copyright holder for libraries and other users registered with their local Reproduction Rights Organisation (RRO), e.g. Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, USA (, provided the appropriate fee is paid directly to the RRO. This consent does not extend to other kinds of copying such as copying for general distribution, for advertising or promotional purposes, for creating new collective works or for resale. Special requests should be addressed to

Cover illustration: Human papillomavirus capsid protein L2 interacts with SUMO2 via its SUMO interacting motif (SIM). Possible 3D structure of the interaction complex of the L2 peptide containing the SIM with the small ubiquitin-like modifier 2 (SUMO2) based on YASARA molecular dynamics simulation. Parallel docking of the L2 peptide onto SUMO2 (blue) indicates tight surface attachment. The hydrophobic core of the L2 SIM peptide is shown in green and amino acid residues involved in electrostatic interaction in red (L2) and light blue (SUMO2). This interaction is important for the delivery of viral DNA to nuclear bodies and efficient infection.