• associations;
  • communities;
  • Cyperaceae;
  • wetlands


This study was conducted between August 2000 and April 2001 in ten wetlands areas of Uganda and these included Lakes Bisina, Nakuwa and Opeta, including the Doho Rice Scheme in the Lake Kyoga basin; Mabamba and Lutembe bays, Lake Nabugabo, Musambwa islands and Lutoboka peninsula in the Lake Victoria basin; and Nyamuriro swamp in Kigezi region. This study focused on Cyperaceae because of their known abundance in wet or damp areas. The aim was to assess the diversity and examine the communities and associations formed by sedges. Floristic data were collected using quadrats along transects. Cluster analysis was used to analyse for species associations. Principal components analysis was used to determine the descriptive species of the sites of the wetlands. A total of 113 taxa in 107 species belonging to 17 genera and classified into seven tribes were identified. The most rare species included Eleocharis dulcis (Burm. f.) Henschel and Cyperus iria L. Using cluster analysis the ten sites of the wetlands were classified into sedge assemblages that generally reflected ecoregional differences between the Lake Kyoga and Victoria basins. The three distinct clusters formed from cluster analysis also revealed species assemblages that represented associations of these sedges found in the sites of each cluster.