British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology

Executive Management Board

  • Chairman, Clinical Section of BPS
  • M. Pirmohamed
  • Vice-President, Clinical Section of BPS
  • J. P. Thompson
  • Honorary Treasurer
  • R. Hiley
  • Publisher
  • E. M. Whelan

Executive Editorial Board

  • E. Baker, London, UK
  • R. Bies, Pittsburgh, USA
  • T. Blaschke, California, USA
  • A. V. Boddy, Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
  • H. Chrystyn, Bradford, UK
  • S. Day, Welwyn Garden City, UK
  • A. de Boer, Utrecht, the Netherlands
  • D. Flockhart, Indianapolis, USA
  • A. S. Gross, Sydney, Australia
  • N. A. Helsby, Auckland, New Zealand
  • S. Hilmer, Sydney, Australia
  • E. Lee, Singapore
  • M. Lennard, Sheffield, UK
  • I. Mackenzie, Dundee, UK
  • A. L. Malizia, Bristol, UK
  • U. Martin, Birmingham, UK
  • C. M. McEniery, Cambridge, UK
  • A. McLachlan, Sydney, Australia
  • J. McLay, Aberdeen, UK
  • G. Mikus, Heidelberg, Germany
  • P. Minuz, Verona, Italy
  • A. H. Morice, Hull, UK
  • K. O'Shaughnessy, Cambridge, UK
  • J. Posner, London, UK
  • S. Ross, Aberdeen, UK
  • J.-G. Shin, Busan, Republic of Korea
  • D. Singh, Manchester, UK
  • D. Stewart, Aberdeen, UK
  • E. Szabadi, Nottingham, UK
  • J. B. Warren, London, UK
  • A. J. Webb, London, UK

International Editorial Board

  • N. L. Benowitz, California, USA
  • I. Cascorbi, Kiel, Germany
  • M. Casteels, Leuven, Belgium
  • F. de Andres Trelles, Madrid, Spain
  • G. De Nucci, São Paolo, Brazil
  • D. Deforce, Gent, Belgium
  • H.-G. Eichler, Vienna, European Medicines Agency, London, UK
  • A. G. Frauman, Melbourne, Australia
  • N. Gogtay, Mumbai, India
  • D. J. Greenblatt, Massachusetts, USA
  • G. Isbister, Newcastle, Australia
  • E. Jacqz-Aigrain, Paris, France
  • K. M. Knights, Adelaide, Australia
  • G. Maartens, Cape Town, South Africa
  • J. O. Miners, Adelaide, Australia
  • J.-L. Montastruc, Toulouse, France
  • P. J. Neuvonen, Helsinki, Finland
  • K. Ohashi, Yufu, Japan
  • H. Ovelgönne, Den Haag, the Netherlands
  • O. Pelkonen, Oulu, Finland
  • E. Phillips, Perth, Australia
  • M. Rieder, Western Ontario, Canada
  • M. Schwab, Stuttgart, Germany
  • G. Suarez-Kurtz, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • E. Uchida, Tokyo, Japan
  • R. Weinshilboum, Minnesota, USA
  • N. J. White, Bangkok, Thailand
  • A. Wood, New York, USA
  • H. Yamazaki, Tokyo, Japan
  • H.-H. Zhou, Changsha, China

Reviews Board

  • N. Cranswick, Melbourne, Australia
  • M. Curtis, London, UK
  • R. Donnelly, Derby, UK
  • G. Isbister, Newcastle, Australia
  • M. Lennard, Sheffield, UK
  • D. Liew, Melbourne, Australia
  • A. Mangoni, Aberdeen, UK
  • J. Martin, Brisbane, Australia
  • T. O'Brien, Melbourne, Australia
  • M. Pirmohamed, Liverpool, UK
  • J. M. Ritter, London, UK
  • M. Schachter, London, UK
  • D. Waller, Southampton, UK

Production Editor

British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology: General Information

Aims and Scope

The British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology is published monthly by Blackwell Publishing Ltd for the British Pharmacological Society. Papers on all aspects of drug action in man will be considered for publication. Electronic submission is mandatory (see Author Guidelines).

Papers are assumed to have been submitted exclusively to the Journal as they become copyright on acceptance for publication. Final publication will be contingent on the receipt of a letter signed by all the coauthors stating that they have seen the paper and, satisfied with the content, have approved its publication in the Journal.


The Publisher, British Pharmacological Society and Editors cannot be held responsible for errors or any consequences arising from the use of information contained in this journal; the views and opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect those of the Publisher, British Pharmacological Society and Editors, neither does the publication of advertisements constitute any endorsement by the Publisher, British Pharmacological Society and Editors of the products advertised.

Copyright and photocopying

British Journal of Clinical Pharmacology © 2012 The British Pharmacological Society. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored or transmitted in any form or by any means without the prior permission in writing from the copyright holder. Authorization to photocopy items for internal and personal use is granted by the copyright holder for libraries and other users registered with their local Reproduction Rights Organisation (RRO), e.g. Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, USA (, provided the appropriate fee is paid directly to the RRO. This consent does not extend to other kinds of copying, such as copying for general distribution, for advertising or promotional purposes, for creating new collective works or for resale. Special requests should be addressed to: