British Association of Dermatologists’ guidelines for biologic interventions for psoriasis 2009


  • Conflicts of interest
    C.H.S., invited speaker and grant/research support Abbott, Janssen-Cilag, Schering-Plough, Serono, Wyeth; A.V.A., grant/research support Abbott, Janssen-Cilag, Schering Plough, Serono, Wyeth; J.N.W.N.B., advisory boards for Abbott, Janssen-Cilag, Novartis, Schering-Plough, Wyeth; grant/research support Abbott, Janssen-Cilag, Schering-Plough, Serono, Wyeth; A.D.B., advisory boards and grant/research support Janssen-Cilag, Schering-Plough, Serono, Wyeth; R.J.G.C., none; D.A.C., none; A.Y.F., consultant for Galderma, Novartis, Schering-Plough, Serono, Wyeth, Pfizer; joint copyright owner of the DLQI; C.E.M.G., advisory boards and invited speaker for Abbott, Janssen-Cilag, Merck-Serono, Novartis, Schering-Plough, UCB Pharma, Wyeth; grant/research support Amgen, Centocor, Merck-Serono, Wyeth; K.J., advisory boards for Abbott, Schering-Plough; educational support Merck-Serono; N.J.McH., advisory boards for Janssen-Cilag, Schering-Plough; grant/research support Abbott; K.E.McK., advisory boards for Abbott, Janssen-Cilag; N.J.R., advisory boards (nonpersonal) for Abbott, Basilea Pharmaceutica, Janssen-Cilag, Merck-Serono, Schering-Plough, Succinct Healthcare; grant/research support Stiefel Laboratories, AstraZeneca; A.D.O., advisory boards for Abbott, Merck-Serono, Schering-Plough; grant/research support Abbott, Janssen-Cilag, Serono, Wyeth.
    This is an updated guideline prepared for the BAD Clinical Standards Unit, made up of the Therapy & Guidelines Subcommittee (T&G) and the Audit & Clinical Standards Subcommittee (A&CS). Members of the Clinical Standards Unit are: H.K. Bell (Chairman T&G), L.C. Fuller (Chairman A&CS), N.J. Levell, M.J. Tidman, P.D. Yesudian, J. Lear, J. Hughes, A.J. McDonagh, S. Punjabi, S. Wagle, S.E. Hulley and M.F. Mohd Mustapa (BAD Clinical Standards Administrator and Information Scientist).
    Guidelines produced in 2005 by the British Association of Dermatologists; reviewed and updated June 2009.

Catherine H. Smith, E-mail: or Anthony Ormerod,