• factor VIII;
  • factor IX;
  • haemophilia;
  • haemophilic arthropathy;
  • MRI

Summary.  The international MRI expert subgroup of the International Prophylaxis Study Group (IPSG) has developed a consensus for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scales for assessment of haemophilic arthropathy. A MRI scoring scheme including a 10 step progressive scale and a 20 step additive scale with identical definitions of mutual steps is presented. Using the progressive scale, effusion/haemarthrosis can correspond to progressive scores of 1, 2, or 3, and synovial hypertrophy and/or haemosiderin deposition to 4, 5, or 6. The progressive score can be 7 or 8 if there are subchondral cysts and/or surface erosions, and it is 9 or 10 if there is loss of cartilage. Using the additive scale, synovial hypertrophy contributes 1–3 points to the additive score and haemosiderin deposition contributes 1 point. For osteochondral changes, 16 statements are evaluated as to whether they are true or false, and each true statement contributes 1 point to the additive score. The use of these two compatible scales for progressive and additive MRI assessments can facilitate international comparison of data and enhance the accumulation of experience on MRI scoring of haemophilic arthropathy.