Get access

The Convention on Nuclear Safety of 1994


  • Patrick Reyners

    1. Patrick Reyners is the Head of the Legal Affairs Section of the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency. In this capacity he is actively involved in the Agency's programme to promote the development and harmonization of nuclear legislation in Member Countries, particularly in the field of nuclear liability. He also participated as an observer in the work of the Group entrusted with the preparation of the Nuclear Safety Convention. The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not represent those of the OECD.
    Search for more papers by this author


The negotiation of the Convention on Nuclear Safety (the Convention) which began in December 1991 within the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), was concluded by a Diplomatic Conference in Vienna in June 1994. The Convention was formally opened for signature on 20 September 1994 in conjunction with the annual General Conference of the IAEA. Today, 63 states have signed the Convention and 19 have ratified or accepted it. Out of these 19 countries, 14 are currently operating nuclear power plants.1 It is hoped that the Convention will come into force this year. This article analyzes its scope and content.