Geomagnetism in the satellite era


  • Acknowledgments. Many people have stimulated and maintained my interest in various aspects of geomagnetism over the years, beginning with my PhD supervisor David Gubbins and subsequently including: the late Edward Benton; Jeremy Bloxham; past and present members of the geomagnetism group at GeoForschungsZentrum, Potsdam; Richard Holme and Andrew Jackson, and their post-doctoral researchers and PhD students; David Kerridge and the British Geological Survey geomagnetism group; the late Robert Langel, Michael Purucker and Terry Sabaka at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center; past and current geomagnetists at the Institut de Physique du Globe, Paris, led until recently by Jean-Louis Le Mouël; Nils Olsen; Robert Parker and colleagues at the Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics, University of California at San Diego; and Tiku Ravat. This work is funded through a NERC Consortium grant to the universities of Edinburgh, Leeds and Liverpool, the British Geological Survey, and the Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils; in addition, researchers from the University of Washington, Seattle, the Danish National Space Center, and ETH, Zürich, are overseas Project Partners.