• Open Access

Opinion of the Scientific Panel on Animal Health and Welfare (AHAW) on a request from the Commission related to “The Risk of a Rift Valley Fever Incursion and its Persistence within the Community”


  • European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)

  • Panel members: Bo Algers, Harry J. Blokhuis, Donald Maurice Broom, Ilaria Capua, Stefano Cinotti, Michael Gunn, Jörg Hartung, Per Have, Xavier Manteca Vilanova, David B. Morton, Michel Pépin, Dirk Udo Pfeiffer, Ronald John Roberts, José Manuel Sánchez Vizcaino, Alejandro Schudel, James Michael Sharp, Georgios Theodoropoulos, Philippe Vannier, Marina Verga, Martin Wierup, Marion Wooldridge
  • Acknowledgement: The Working Group drafted the scientific risk assessment, which was then reviewed and revised by Panel. The Working Group was chaired by Prof. D. Pfeiffer. In addition to the AHAW Panel members Drs. M. Pépin, M. Wooldridge and A. Schudel, and Proffs M. Pensaert and D. Collins from the BIOHAZ Panel, the members of the Working Group were: Thierry Baldet, Glyn Davies, Alan Kemp, Vincent Martin, Jansuz Paweska, Robert Swanepoel, Yaya Thiongane
  • Adoption date: 5 July 2005
  • Published date: 11 October 2005
  • Question number: EFSA-Q-2004-050