• Open Access

Opinion of the Scientific Panel on Animal Health and Welfare (AHAW) on a request from the Commission related to the aspects of the biology and welfare of animals used for experimental and other scientific purposes


  • European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)

  • Panel members: Bo Algers, Harry J. Blokhuis, Donald Maurice Broom, Ilaria Capua, Stefano Cinotti, Michael Gunn, Jörg Hartung, Per Have, Xavier Manteca Vilanova, David B. Morton, Michel Pépin, Dirk Udo Pfeiffer, Ronald John Roberts, José Manuel Sánchez Vizcaino, Alejandro Schudel, James Michael Sharp, Georgios Theodoropoulos, Philippe Vannier, Marina Verga, Martin Wierup, Marion Wooldridge.
  • Acknowledgement: The working group drafted the scientific risk assessment, which was then reviewed and adopted by the AHAW Panel. The working group was chaired by David Morton on behalf of the AHAW Panel. The members of the working group were: Questions 1&2 - Chairman Prof. Donald Broom: Dr Chris Sherwin, Prof. Neville Gregory, and Dr Roddy Williamson. Question 3 – Chairman Dr Xavier Manteca: Prof Stefano Cinotti, Dr David Anderson and Prof. Timo Nevalainen. Question 4 - Chairman Prof David Morton: Dr Mohan Raj and Dr Bert Lambooij.
  • Adoption date: 14 November 2005
  • Published date: 22 December 2005
  • Question number: EFSA-Q-2004-105