• Open Access

Species-specific welfare aspects of the main systems of stunning and killing of farmed Seabass and Seabream


  • European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)

  • Panel members: Bo Algers, Harry J. Blokhuis, Anette Bøtner, Donald M. Broom, Patrizia Costa, Mariano Domingo, Mathias Greiner, Jörg Hartung, Frank Koenen, Christine Muller-Graf, David B. Morton, Albert Osterhaus, Dirk U. Pfeiffer, Mohan Raj, Ronald Roberts, Moez Sanaa, Mo Salman, J. Michael Sharp, Philippe Vannier and Martin Wierup.
  • Acknowledgement: The European Food Safety Authority wishes to thank the members of the Working Group for the preparation of this opinion: Mohan Raj (Chair), Bianca Maria Poli, Giovanna Marino, Hans Van De Vis, Paulo Vaz Pires Ed Peeler, Marion Wooldridge, David Morton The AHAW Panel also would like to thank the Member States and stakeholders organisations for their valuable comments which were taken into consideration by the WG Members in producing the Scientific Opinion. The scientific coordination for this Scientific Opinion has been undertaken by the EFSA AHAW Panel Scientific Officers Oriol Ribó, Franck Berthe, Sofie Dhollander, Tomasz Grudnik, Jordi Tarrés-Call and particularly Ana Afonso.
  • Adoption date: 20 March 2009
  • Published date: 14 April 2009
  • Question number: EFSA-Q-2008-437