Priority topics for the development of risk assessment guidance by EFSA's Scientific Committee in 2016–2018


  • EFSA Scientific Committee

  • Requestor: EFSA
  • Question number: EFSA-Q-2016-00129
  • Scientific Committee members: Diane Benford, Thorhallur Halldorsson, Anthony Hardy, Michael John Jeger, Katrine Helle Knutsen, Simon More, Alicja Mortensen, Hanspeter Naegeli, Hubert Noteborn, Colin Ockleford, Antonia Ricci, Guido Rychen, Josef R. Schlatter, Vittorio Silano, Roland Solecki and Dominique Turck
  • Acknowledgements: The Panel wishes to thank the members of the Standing Working Group on Guidance Review: Diane Benford, Theo Brock, Andrew Chesson, Anthony Hardy, Michael John Jeger, Sirpa Kärenlampi, Claude Lambré, Yolanda Sanz, Josef Schlatter and Vittorio Silano for the preparatory work on this scientific opinion and EFSA staff members: Tilemachos Goumperis and Daniela Maurici for the support provided to this scientific opinion.
  • Adopted: 19 May 2016



EFSA asked its Scientific Committee to review its own cross-cutting guidance for scientific assessments in order to identify gaps requiring either new or the revision of existing guidance. Through strategic discussions, the Scientific Committee identified topics to be included in its 2016–2018 work programme without ranking their priority. Three topics were identified for activity leading to the development of new guidance: individual susceptibility and uncertainty factors; interpretation of epidemiological studies; history of use. These will be further discussed and introduced into the rolling work programme as time and resources become available. Work is already underway in three areas which will lead to new or revised cross-cutting guidance: chemical mixtures; follow up on the Threshold of Toxicological Concern approach; nanotechnologies. The Scientific Committee will continue to keep priorities for cross-cutting guidance across EFSA's fields of responsibility under review.