Rapid Communications in Mass Spectrometry

Cover image for Vol. 30 Issue 22

Impact Factor: 2.226

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2015: 17/43 (Spectroscopy); 33/75 (Chemistry Analytical); 43/77 (BIOCHEMICAL RESEARCH METHODS)

Online ISSN: 1097-0231

RCM/Beynon Award

About the Award

In 2004, to mark the 80th birthday of John Beynon, the founding Editor of Rapid Communications in Mass Spectrometry (RCM), the publishers (John Wiley and Sons, Ltd.) established an annual award named the 'RCM Beynon Prize'. This award, consisting of a monetary award of $1000 (US) plus a certificate for each contributing author, is awarded by an ad hoc Sub-committee of the Editorial Board of RCM, based on the following criterion.

The prize will be awarded annually to the corresponding author(s) of the paper, published in RCM over the previous two calendar years that, in the opinion of the Awards Sub-committee, describes an innovative advance in mass spectrometric instrumentation or methodology that has had the greatest immediate impact in its particular sub-discipline over the previous two calendar years (i.e., published in the previous two volumes of RCM).

Previous Winners

"Rapid differentiation of isomeric lipids by photodissociation mass spectrometry of fatty acid derivatives"
Huong T. Pham, Adam J. Trevitt, Todd W. Mitchell and Stephen J. Blanksby

Experiment and theory combine to produce a practical negative ion calibration set for collision cross-section determinations by travelling-wave ion-mobility mass spectrometry
Jenna V. Hamilton, Justin B. Renaud and Paul M. Mayer

Combining transmission geometry laser ablation and a non-contact continuous flow surface sampling probe/electrospray emitter for mass spectrometry based chemical imaging
Olga S. Ovchinnikova, Vilmos Kertesz and Gary J. Van Berkel

Electrospray ionization mass spectrometry from discrete nanoliter-sized sample volumes
by Patrik Ek, Mårten Stjernström, Åsa Emmer and Johan Roeraade

Pulsed radiofrequency glow discharge time-of-flight mass spectrometry for molecular depth profiling of polymer-based films
by Nunzio Tuccitto, Lara Lobo, Agnès Tempez, Ivan Delfanti, Patrick Chapon, Stela Canulescu, Nerea Bordel, Johann Michler and Antonino Licciardello

Quantification of human insulin-like growth factor-1 and qualitative detection of its analogues in plasma using liquid chromatography/electrospray ionisation tandem mass spectrometry
by Michael Bredehöft, Wilhelm Schnzer and Mario Thevis

Design and performance of an atmospheric pressure ion mobility Fourier transform ion cyclotron resonance mass spectrometer
by Xiaoting Tang, James E. Bruce and Herbert H. Hill, Jr.

Combined infrared multiphoton dissociation and electron-capture dissociation using co-linear and overlapping beams in Fourier transform ion cyclotron resonance mass spectrometry
by Romulus Mihalca, Yuri E. M. van der Burgt, Liam A. McDonnell, Marc Duursma, Iliya Cerjak, Albert J. R. Heck and Ron M. A. Heeren

Characterisation of intact recombinant human erythropoietins applied in doping by means of planar gel electrophoretic techniques and matrix-assisted laser desorption/ionisation linear time-of-flight mass spectrometry
by Gerald Stübiger, Martina Marchetti, Marietta Nagano, Christian Reichel, Günter Gmeiner and Günter Allmaier

Photoelectron resonance capture ionization mass spectrometry: a soft ionization source for mass spectrometry of particle-phase organic compounds
by Brian W. LaFranchi, James Zahardis and Giuseppe A. Petrucci

Targeted lipidomics using electron capture atmospheric pressure chemical ionization mass spectrometry
by Seon Hwa Lee, Michelle V. Williams, Raymond N. DuBois and Ian A. Blair

Use of different proteases working in acidic conditions to improve sequence coverage and resolution in hydrogen/deuterium exchange of large proteins
by Laetitia Cravello, David Lascoux and Eric Forest