Biotechnology and Bioengineering

Cover image for Vol. 114 Issue 4

Edited By: Douglas S. Clark

Impact Factor: 4.243

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2015: 24/161 (Biotechnology & Applied Microbiology)

Online ISSN: 1097-0290

Gaden Award

Award Information
In honor of its founding editor Elmer L. Gaden, Jr., Biotechnology and Bioengineering provides an annual award for a high-impact paper reflecting exceptional innovation, creativity, and originality. Each year the winner of this award receives an honorarium of $3,000, a plaque and is invited to deliver an award address at an American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Biochemical Technology (BIOT) session at an ACS national meeting.

Past Recipients:

Kelvin Lee for:
Expression of difficult-to-remove host cell protein impurities during extended Chinese hamster ovary cell culture and their impact on continuous bioprocessing
Kristin N. Valente, Abraham M. Lenhoff and Kelvin H. Lee
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 112:1232-1242, 2015

Jens Nielsen for:
Engineering the oxygen sensing regulation results in an enhanced recombinant human hemoglobin production by Saccharomyces cerevisiae
José L. Martínez, Lifang Liu, Dina Petranovic and Jens Nielsen
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 112:181-188, 2015

Frances Arnold for:
Engineered thermostable fungal Cel6A and Cel7A cellobiohydrolases hydrolyze cellulose efficiently at elevated temperatures
Indira Wu and Frances H. Arnold
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 110:1874-1883, 2013

Huimin Zhao for:
Cloning and characterization of a panel of constitutive promoters for applications in pathway engineering in Saccharomyces cerevisiae
Jie Sun, Zengyi Shao, Hua Zhao, Nikhil Nair, Fei Wen, Jian-He Xu and Huimin Zhao
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 109:2082-2092, 2012

Kim O'Connor for:
Clonal analysis of the proliferation potential of human bone marrow mesenchymal stem cells as a function of potency
Katie C. Russell, Michelle R. Lacey, Jennifer K. Gilliam, H. Alan Tucker, Donald G. Phinney and Kim C. O'Connor
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 108:2716-2726, 2011

Gregory Cost for:
Highly efficient deletion of FUT8 in CHO cell lines using zinc-finger nucleases yields cells that produce completely nonfucosylated antibodies
Laetitia Malphettes, Yevgeniy Freyvert, Jennifer Chang, Pei-Qi Liu, Edmond Chan, Jeffrey C. Miller, Zhe Zhou, Thu Nguyen, Christina Tsai, Andrew W. Snowden, Trevor N. Collingwood, Philip D. Gregory and Gregory J. Cost
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 106:774-783, 2010

Vassily Hatzimanikatis for:
Computational framework for predictive biodegradation
Stacey D. Finley, Linda J. Broadbelt, Vassily Hatzimanikatis
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 104:1086-1097, 2009

Eleftherios T. Papoutsakis for:
Genome-scale model for Clostridium acetobutylicum: Part 1. Metabolic network resolution and analysis
Ryan S. Senger, Eleftherios T. Papoutsakis
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 101:1036-1052,2008

Mark E. Davis for:
Impact of tumor-specific targeting and dosing schedule on tumor growth inhibition after intravenous administration of siRNA-containing nanoparticles
Derek W. Bartlett, Mark E. Davis
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 99:975-985, 2008

William M. Pardridge for:
Humanization of anti-human insulin receptor antibody for drug targeting across the human blood-brain barrier
Ruben J. Boado,Yufeng Zhang,Yun Zhang, and William M. Pardridge
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 96:381–391, 2007

Jonathan S. Dordick for:
Controlled hierarchical assembly of switchable DNA-multiprotein complexes
Grazyna E. Sroga, Jonathan S. Dordick
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 94:312-321, 2006

James R. Swartz for:
Energizing cell-free protein synthesis with glucose metabolism
Kara A. Calhoun, James R. Swartz
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 90: 606-613, 2005

Jeffrey A. Hubbell for:
Synthetic extraceIlular matrices for in situ tissue engineering
Alison B. Pratt, Franz E.Weber, Hugo G. Schmoeckel, Ralph Müller, Jeffrey A. Hubbell
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 86:27-36, 2004

Martin Fussenegger for:
Novel CNBP- and La-based translation control systems for mammalian cells
Stefan Schlatter, Martin Fussenegger
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 81:1-12, 2003

Peter W. Zandstra for:
Efficiency of embryoid body formation and hematopoietic development from embryonic stem cells in different culture systems
Stephen M. Dang, Michael Kyba, Rita Perlingeiro, George Q. Daley, Peter W. Zandstra
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 78:442-453, 2002

Govind Rao for:
Low-cost microbioreactor for high throughput bioprocessing
Yordan Kostov, Peter Harms, Lisa Randers-Eichhorn, Govind Rao
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 72:346-352, 2001

James E. Bailey for:
Engineering of coordinated up- and down-regulation of two glycosyltransferases of the o-glycosylation pathway in Chinese Hamster Ovary (CHO) cells
Elisabetta G.P. Prati, Mattia Matasci, Tobias B. Suter, Andre Dinter, Andriana R. Sburlati, James E. Bailey
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 68:239-244, 2000

Sang Yup Lee for:
Chiral compounds from bacterial polyesters: Sugars to plastics to fine chemicals
Sang Yup Lee, Young Lee, Fulai Wang
Biotechnology and Bioengineering 65:363-368, 1999