Journal of Applied Polymer Science

Cover image for Vol. 133 Issue 33

Online ISSN: 1097-4628

Editorial Board

Stefan Spiegel

Stefan Spiegel, PhD

Stefan studied chemistry at the University of Mainz, Germany, and received his Ph.D. in 1995 from the Max-Planck-Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz, for his work on solid-state NMR investigations on polymeric systems under the guidance of H.-W. Spiess. He has worked as an editor of the Macromolecular Journals since 1997, with present responsibilities including Macromolecular Materials & Engineering, Macromolecular Theory & Simulations, and Macromolecular Reaction Engineering. He started working with the Journal of Applied Polymer Science team in 2013 and became the Editor-in-Chief in October 2014.

Hilary J. Crichton

Hilary J. Crichton, PhD
Deputy Editor

Hilary studied chemistry at the University of Edinburgh (UK) before completing a PhD on inelastic energy transfer in small free radicals at Heriot-Watt University (UK). In July 2004 she joined the publishing department of the Royal Society of Chemistry, working on the journals Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics and Faraday Discussions. In June 2008 she moved to the journal Nature Materials where she handled papers covering all types of soft matter, organic electronics and self-assembled systems. After a brief spell working at the European Science Foundation in Strasbourg, Hilary became an editor of the Journal of Applied Polymer Science in July 2011.

Jenny Mahoney

Jenny Mahoney, PhD
Associate Editor

Jenny studied physics at Fordham University in the Bronx, NY and received her Ph.D. in Physics from Stevens Institute of Technology in Hoboken, NJ, where she specialized in electron-driven processes and plasma technology. She then won a Postdoctoral Research Fellowship from the New Jersey Commission on Science and Technology and used nanotechnology to build ultraviolet light sources. Most recently, she conducted plasma physics research at the Center for Microplasma Science and Technology at St. Peter’s College in Jersey City, NJ and was highly involved in outreach such as teaching physics to undergraduate and high school students using hands-on experiments. Jenny joined the Journal of Applied Polymer Science team in December 2012.

Mara Staffilani

Mara Staffilani, PhD
Associate Editor

Mara received her PhD in physical chemistry from the University of Amsterdam, Netherlands, for her studies on luminescent metal complexes for diagnostics applications. During her doctoral degree she spent two years in the research laboratories of Roche Diagnostics. In 2003 she moved to publishing to work as the Editor of Macromolecular Chemistry & Physics and Macromolecular Bioscience. She then took on the position of Managing Editor of Biofuels, Bioproducts and Biorefining journal and website in 2008. Since March 2013 she joined again the Wiley polymer journals as an Associate Editor of the Journal of Applied Polymer Science and Macromolecular Chemistry & Physics.

Emily Hu

Emily Hu, PhD
Associate Editor

Emily obtained her PhD at the Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences(Changchun, China). Before joining Wiley in 2012, she worked at the University of Washington in Seattle as a postdoctoral researcher.

Xin Su

Xin Su, PhD
Associate Editor

Xin received his B.Sc. from Nankai University (Tianjin, China) in 2009, and his PhD from Dartmouth College (Hanover, NH) in 2013. After working at the National Energy Technology Laboratory in Pittsburgh as an ORISE Postdoctoral Fellow, he joined Wiley in 2015.

Herman F. Mark


Subramanian Iyer
Inhance Technologies
16223 Park Row, Suite 100
Houston, TX 77084 USA

Brian Knapp
Promerus LLC
9921 Brecksville Road
Brecksville, OH 44141 USA

Sergei Nazarenko
University of Southern Mississippi
118 College Drive, MB#10076
Hattiesburg, MS 39406 USA

Mark A. Schubert
Sherwin-Williams Company
Breen Technology Center
601 Canal Road
Cleveland, OH 44113 USA

Eric Baer
Case Western University
Cleveland, OH, USA


Rigoberto Advincula
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH, USA

Ann-Christine Albertsson
KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Stockholm, Sweden

David Benko
The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.
Akron, OH, USA

Anil Bhowmick
Indian Institute of Technology
Kharagpur, India

Bryan Boudouris
Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN, USA

Neal Chung

National University of Singapore

Robert E. Cohen
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA, USA

Isabel C. Escobar
 University of Kentucky
 Lexington, KY, USA

Antonio Facchetti
Northwestern University
Evanston IL, USA

Lionel Flandin
Université de Savoie
Le Bourget-du Lac, France

Andrzej Galeski
Polish Academy of Sciences
Sienkiewicza, Poland

Julie M. Goddard
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA, USA

Sophie M. Guillaume
Université de Rennes
Rennes, France

Atsushi Hotta
Keio University
Yokohama, Japan

Yanbin Huang
Tsinghua University
Beijing, China

Avraam I. Isayev
University of Akron
Akron, OH, USA

J. Karger-Kocsis
Budapest University of Technology and Economics
Budapest, Hungary

Sangamesh Kumbar
University of Connecticut Health Center
Farmington, CT, USA

J. M. Lagaron
Valencia, Spain

Daeyeon Lee
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA, USA

Alan J. Lesser
University of Massachusetts
Amherst, MA, USA

Yongfang Li
Chinese Academy of Sciences
Beijing, China

Michael Malkoch
KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Stockholm, Sweden

Jimmy W. Mays
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN, USA

Michael A. R. Meier
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Karlsruhe, Germany

Manjusri Misra
University of Guelph
Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Koon-Gee Neoh
National University of Singapore

Roisin M. Owens
Ecole des Mines de St. Etienne
Gardanne, France

Roberto Pantani
University of Salerno
Salerno, Italy

Cheolmin Park
Yonsei University
Seoul, South Korea

Ho Bum Park
Hanyang University
Seoul, South Korea

Moon Jeong Park
Pohang, South Korea

Donald R. Paul
University of Texas
Austin, TX, USA

Nicholas A. Peppas
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX, USA

Luana Persano
National Research Council

Robert K. Prud'homme
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ, USA

David A. Putnam
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY, USA

Bluma G. Soares
Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

S. C. Tjong
City University of Hong Kong
Kowloon, Hong Kong

Jadranka Travas-Sejdic
University of Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand

Christopher Tucker
The Dow Chemical Company
Midland, MI, USA

Bart Van der Bruggen
KU Leuven
Leuven, Belgium

Yu-Zhong Wang
Sichuan University
Chengdu, China

Christoph Weder
University of Fribourg
Fribourg, Switzerland

Robert A. Weiss
University of Akron
Akron, OH, USA

Andrew K. Whittaker
University of Queensland
Brisbane, Australia

Paula Wood-Adams
Concordia University
Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Kenneth J. Wynne
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA, USA

Lina Zhang
Wuhan University
Wuhan, China

Liqun Zhang
Beijing University of Chemical Technology
Beijing, China

Maria Monte

Melissa Ekis