Cover image for Vol. 17 Issue 18

Editor: Greta Heydenrych; Editorial Board Chairs: Christian Amatore, Michael Grätzel, Michel Orrit

Impact Factor: 3.138

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2015: 8/35 (Physics Atomic Molecular & Chemical); 50/144 (Chemistry Physical)

Online ISSN: 1439-7641

Associated Title(s): Advanced Materials, ChemBioChem, ChemCatChem, ChemElectroChem, ChemPhotoChem, ChemSusChem, Small

September 17, 2009

ACS Award in Theoretical Chemistry for Björn Roos

ACS Award in Theoretical Chemistry for Björn RoosChemPhysChem Editorial Advisory Board Member Björn Roos of Lund University is the winner of the 2010 American Chemical Society (ACS) Award in Theoretical Chemistry, an important prize that recognizes "innovative research in theoretical chemistry that either advances theoretical methodology or contributes to new discoveries about chemical systems."

Roos is known for his outstanding work in quantum chemistry –emphasizing the development of methods and computational tools for calculating wavefunctions including electron correlation and the applications to molecular structure, energy surfaces for chemical reactions, molecular spectroscopy, transition-metal chemistry, and biochemistry. He received his PhD in theoretical physics in 1968 at the University of Stockholm and was appointed Professor and head of the department of Theoretical Chemistry of the University of Lund in 1983.

The famous ACS prize was established in 1991 and was also awarded to Michele Parrinello (another of our Board Members) in 2001. Roos will be honored in March during the 239th ACS National Meeting in San Francisco.

Read the latest Wiley articles by Roos and co-workers on the new features of the MOLCAS 7 quantum chemistry package (Journal of Computational Chemistry) and the study of simple molecules with triple bonds to uranium (Angewandte Chemie).

Kira Welter

Your Comment...

[Browse more news]