Cover image for Vol. 17 Issue 23

Editor: Greta Heydenrych; Editorial Board Chairs: Christian Amatore, Michael Grätzel, Michel Orrit

Impact Factor: 3.138

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2015: 8/35 (Physics Atomic Molecular & Chemical); 50/144 (Chemistry Physical)

Online ISSN: 1439-7641

Associated Title(s): Advanced Materials, ChemBioChem, ChemCatChem, ChemElectroChem, ChemPhotoChem, ChemSusChem, Small

March 25, 2013

Recipients of the 2013 ACS National Awards to Meet in New Orleans

Recipients of the 2013 ACS National Awards to Meet in New OrleansThe winners of this year's American Chemical Society (ACS) National Awards will be honored on April 9th, 2013, at the 245th ACS National Meeting, which will take place in New Orleans, USA.

One of the awardees is ChemPhysChem Editorial Advisory Board Member W. E. Moerner (Stanford University), who will receive the Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry for his outstanding contributions to the fields of single-molecules spectroscopy, superresolution imaging and nanophotonics. This prize is awarded annually by the ACS "to encourage and reward outstanding research in physical chemistry". It is named after the Dutch scientist Peter Debye, who received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1936 for his contributions to the study of molecular structure.

W. E. Moerner earned three bachelor's degrees from Washington University in 1975 and master's and doctoral degrees from Cornell University in 1978 and 1982, respectively. From 1981 to 1995, he was a research staff member at IBM, and from 1993 to 1994, he was Guest Professor of Physical Chemistry at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. In 1995, he returned to the USA, where he became Professor and Distinguished Chair in Physical Chemistry at the University of California-San Diego until 1998 (the year he joined the Stanford faculty). He was also a Visiting Professor at Harvard University from 1997 to 1998. Moerner has received many prizes and distinctions throughout his career, including the Wolf Prize in Chemistry (with Allen Bard) in 2008 and his election to the National Academy of Sciences in 2007.

Some of the other 2013 award winners are: Peter J. Stang, University of Utah (Priestley Medal); Steve Granick, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (ACS Award in Colloid and Surface Chemistry), Younan Xia, Georgia Institute of Technology (ACS Award in the Chemistry of Materials); Frank H. Stillinger, Princeton University (ACS Award in Theoretical Chemistry); and Ulrike Diebold, Vienna University of Technology and Tulane University (Arthur W. Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry).

Read Moerner's most recent ChemPhysChem papers on 3D super-resolution imaging of subcellular features within bacterial cells using astigmatism, sub-diffraction imaging of fluorescent Huntington's disease proteins and DCDHF fluorophores for single-molecule imaging in cells.

Photo: ChemPhysChem Board Member W. E. Moerner (Stanford University) receives 2013 Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry

Kira Welter

Your Comment...

[Browse more news]