Cover image for Vol. 10 Issue 12

Editor-in-Chief: Natalia Ortúzar

Impact Factor: 2.968

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2014: 19/59 (Chemistry Medicinal); 83/255 (Pharmacology & Pharmacy)

Online ISSN: 1860-7187

Associated Title(s): Angewandte Chemie International Edition, Chemistry - A European Journal, Chemistry – An Asian Journal, ChemBioChem, Medicinal Research Reviews, Molecular Informatics

September 22, 2010

Wiley and ChemMedChem at the International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry 2010 in Brussels

The ChemMedChem editorial team, along with fellow Wiley colleagues from Weinheim and Chichester, had the privilege of attending the XXIst ISMC in Brussels earlier this month. The scientific organizing committee, chaired by Professor Koen Augustyns (University of Antwerp, Belgium) and Dr. Edmond Differding (formerly with UCB, Braine-l'Alleud, Belgium), did an excellent job in assembling the scientific program. The conference venue, 'Square', is situated in the historic center of Brussels, which made this five-day event quite enriching both culturally and scientifically.

Symposium highlights included the recognition of four prominent medicinal chemists for their significant contributions to the field. Camille G. Wermuth (Prestwick Chemical, Illkirch, France), who spent more than 30 years as professor of organic and medicinal chemistry at the faculty of pharmacy at Louis Pasteur University (Strasbourg, France), received the Nauta Award for Pharmacochemistry; his award presentation was an engaging and convincing discussion of pyridazines as privileged structures in medicinal chemistry.

Professor Arun K. Ghosh (Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA) was awarded the IUPAC-Richter Prize in Medicinal Chemistry for his novel concept of "backbone binding" in the structure-based design of HIV-1 protease inhibitors. These efforts led to the drug darunavir, which was approved by the USFDA in 2006 as the first treatment for multidrug-resistant HIV. He gave an outstanding award presentation on the use of backbone binding in the design of protease inhibitors as treatments for HIV and Alzheimer's disease.

Dr. Tony Wood (Pfizer, Sandwich, UK) received the UCB-Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry in recognition of his leading role in the discovery of maraviroc at Pfizer. Maraviroc is the first small-molecule antagonist of the CCR5 chemokine receptor, and thus blocks HIV before it even enters the cell. His award lecture covered maraviroc's development, and compared CCR5 antagonism with non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor (NNRTI) approaches in combating HIV infection.

Professor Klaus Müller (F. Hoffmann–La Roche, Basel, Switzerland) received the Prous Institute–Overton and Meyer Award for New Technologies in Drug Discovery. His award presentation was an impressive tour of the various technological developments that have aided drug discovery efforts in recent years; he used his expertise at Roche as an illustration of how computational methods, in combination with automation, miniaturization, and parallel approaches can vastly increase the efficiency of high-throughput analyses.

The ISMC 2010 trade exhibition was a nice complement to the scientific program, and as attendees quickly observed, there was a lot going on at the Wiley booth. Authors János Fischer, Robin Ganellin, and Arun K. Ghosh were on hand to sign copies of their recently launched Wiley book titles. It didn't take long to exhaust our supply of copies of Frommer's Berlin Day by Day, which were given away to booth visitors; this city guide book should come in handy for those who attend the XXIInd ISMC, which will be held in Berlin, September 16–20, 2012. See you there!

Your Comment...

[Browse more news]