Cover image for Vol. 12 Issue 6

Editorial Board Chairs: Antonello Mai, Rainer Metternich. Assoc. Editors: David Peralta, Scott Williams (Sr)

Impact Factor: 2.98

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2015: 18/59 (Chemistry Medicinal); 77/255 (Pharmacology & Pharmacy)

Online ISSN: 1860-7187

Associated Title(s): Angewandte Chemie International Edition, Chemistry - A European Journal, Chemistry – An Asian Journal, ChemBioChem, Medicinal Research Reviews, Molecular Informatics

October 05, 2011

2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine goes to Beutler, Hoffmann, Steinman

Key discoveries in immune system function have been recognized by the Nobel Prize Committee this year. Bruce A. Beutler (University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas, USA) and Jules A. Hoffmann (University of Strasbourg, France) are the joint recipients of half the prize for their contributions to our current understanding of the innate immune response, while Ralf M. Steinman (Rockefeller University, New York, USA) was awarded the other half for his pioneering research into the adaptive immune response.

In a rather tragic turn of events, Professor Steinman passed away around the same time the Nobel Committee had reached its decision for this year's recipients, before news of his award could reach him. However, Steinman's contributions, alongside those of Beutler and Hoffmann, have been bestowed the highest level of recognition and honor, and the significance and impact of all three scientists' creativity and dedication will continue to inspire for generations to come.

Your Comment...

[Browse more news]