Cover image for Vol. 12 Issue 14

Editorial Board Chairs: Karl-Heinz Altmann, Antonello Mai, Rainer Metternich. Editor: David Peralta

Impact Factor: 3.225

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2016: 17/60 (Chemistry Medicinal); 73/256 (Pharmacology & Pharmacy)

Online ISSN: 1860-7187

Associated Title(s): Angewandte Chemie International Edition, Chemistry - A European Journal, Chemistry – An Asian Journal, ChemBioChem, Medicinal Research Reviews, Molecular Informatics

April 01, 2013

KGF–SCS Industrial Investigator Awards go to K. Müller, W. Bonrath, and M. Rogers-Evans; Wolf Prize goes to R. S. Langer

KGF–SCS Industrial Investigator Awards: The Kontaktgruppe für Forschungsfragen (KGF; Contact Group for Research Matters) and the Swiss Chemical Society have initiated a joint program to honor individuals for their contributions to the Swiss chemical and pharmaceutical industry. Featured below are some of the inaugural award recipients.

Klaus Müller (F. Hoffmann-La Roche, Basel, and ETH Zurich) is recipient of the KGF–SCS Distinguished Industrial Investigator Award in recognition for his pioneering work in many important projects, including structure-based molecular design, biostructure research, and bioinformatics. Müller studied at the ETH Zurich, where he completed his PhD in 1970 under the supervision of Albert Eschenmoser. In 1971, he carried out postdoctoral research with Gerhard Closs at the University of Chicago, and in 1972 he was made lecturer at Harvard University. In 1974, he returned to the ETH Zurich, where he completed his habilitation in 1977 and subsequently joined the faculty. He moved to F. Hoffmann-La Roche in 1982 and held many positions there, including membership of the Board of Directors and General Secretary of the Roche Research Foundation (now the Roche Postdoc Fellowship program) until his retirement in 2009. He remains associated with F. Hoffmann-La Roche as a consultant and is also a lecturer at the ETH Zurich. Müller's research interests are in the design, synthesis, and properties of oxetanes, spirocyclic small-ring heterocyclic units, and small partially fluorinated alkyl groups. He is co-author of a Minireview in Angewandte Chemie on oxetanes in drug discovery and synthesis, and has reported in ChemMedChem on the design of libraries that target protein–protein interfaces. Müller is on the editorial or advisory boards of Angewandte Chemie, ChemBioChem, ChemMedChem, and Chemistry—A European Journal.

Werner Bonrath (DSM Nutritional Products, Basel) and Ian Lewis (Novartis Institute of Biomedical Research, Basel) were honored with the KGF–SCS Senior Industrial Investigator Award. Bonrath, who has published a Review in Angewandte Chemie on the development of industrial processes for vitamin manufacture, was awarded for his work in the areas of vitamins, carotenoids, and fragrances. Bonrath studied at the Universities of Bonn and Münster, and carried out his PhD (1988) with Günther Wilke at the Max Planck Institute for Coal Research, Mülheim an der Ruhr. After working at the University of Innsbruck, he joined F. Hoffmann-La Roche in 1989. He completed his habilitation the University of Jena in 2007, and is currently lecturer at the Universities of Jena and Basel, and has been Competence Manager, Heterogeneous Catalysis at DSM Nutritional Products in Kaiseraugst since the integration of Roche Vitamins into DSM. Bonrath's research involves all aspects of catalysis, particularly applications in the synthesis of isoprenoids, vitamins, carotenoids, and flavor compounds, and is focused on solid acid–base catalysis, hydrogenation reactions, and acetylene chemistry.

Mark Rogers-Evans (F. Hoffmann-La Roche, Basel) is the winner of the KGF–SCS Industrial Investigator Award, and was honored for his work in medicinal chemistry, in particular his studies on small heterocyclic ring systems such as oxetanes and azaspiro[3.4]octanes. Rogers-Evans carried out his PhD and postdoctoral work with Brian A. Marples (Loughborough University) and Raymond Bonnet (Queen Mary, University of London), and with Victor Snieckus (University of Waterloo). He joined F. Hoffmann-La Roche in 1994, and moved to the Roche Chemistry Technologies & Innovation group in 2009. His contributions to Angewandte Chemie include a Minireview on oxetanes in drug discovery and synthesis, and a Communication on the synthesis and properties of spirocyclic oxetanes.

2013 Wolf Prize

Robert S. Langer (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) was awarded the 2013 Wolf Prize in Chemistry for "conceiving and implementing advances in polymer chemistry that provide both controlled drug-release systems and new biomaterials". Langer's career was outlined in Angewandte Chemie when he won the Priestley Medal.

Your Comment...

[Browse more news]