Cover image for Vol. 82 Issue 10

Editor: Marisa Spiniello. Editorial Board Chairs: Matthias Driess, Michal Hocek, Tetsuro Majima

Online ISSN: 2192-6506

Associated Title(s): Angewandte Chemie International Edition, Chemistry - A European Journal

April 11, 2012

AstraZeneca Excellence in Chemistry Awards 2011

AstraZeneca Excellence in Chemistry Awards 2011The AstraZeneca Excellence in Chemistry Awards are presented to talented young researchers for their achievements in synthetic, computational, mechanistic, or bio-organic chemistry. Each awardee is presented with a US$50000 unrestricted research grant. Among the winners for 2011 is Govindasamy Mugesh (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore), who was honored for contributions to the understanding of metalloproteins and methodologies for functionally mimicking their active sites.

Mugesh studied chemistry at Madras and Bharathidasan Universities, and obtained his PhD in 1998 from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay under the supervision of Harkesh B. Singh. He was an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow with Wolf-Walther du Mont at the Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany (2000–2001), and was a Skaggs Postdoctoral Fellow with K. C. Nicolaou at the Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, USA (2001–2002). Mugesh joined the Indian Institute of Science in 2002 and is on the International Advisory Board of ChemPlusChem. The Mugesh research group focuses on the chemistry and biology of medicinally important metalloproteins and on design and synthesis of new compounds as inhibitors of heme peroxidases and zinc hydrolases.

Your Comment...

[Browse more news]