Basin Research

Cover image for Vol. 27 Issue 2

Edited By: Cynthia Ebinger, Sebastien Castelltort, George Hilley, Chris Jackson and Andreas Mulch

Impact Factor: 3.464

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2013: 23/174 (Geosciences Multidisciplinary)

Online ISSN: 1365-2117

Editorial Board


Cynthia Ebinger (Editor-In-Chief)

Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY 14627, USA


Cynthia Ebinger held academic positions at the University of Leeds and Royal Holloway University of London before returning to the US in 2006. She analyses and models geophysical and structural data to understand the kinematics and dynamics of sedimentary basin evolution, and to elucidate the thermo-mechanical behavior of the lithosphere. The primary theme of her research is the evolution of continental rift zones from initiation to continental rupture, including the interplay between faulting and magmatism. Joined Basin Research Editorial Board in 2014

Sebastien Castelltort (Associate Editor)

Department of Earth Sciences, University of Geneva, Rue des Maraîchers 13, 1205 Geneva, Switzerland


Sébastien Castelltort is Associate Professor of Sedimentology at the University of Geneva since 2011. He uses sedimentary and topographic records of past environmental changes to understand the functioning of sedimentary systems from orogens to basins. His primary research questions include: the origin of stratigraphic cyclicity in fluvial to deep marine settings, river response to extreme climate change, and the evolution of drainage networks and their reaction to tectonic deformation. Joined Basin Research Editorial Board in 2014.

Christopher Jackson (Associate Editor)

Basins Research Group (BRG), Department of Earth Science and Engineering, Imperial College, Prince Consort Road, London, SW7 2BP, UK


Christopher Jackson is the Statoil Reader in Basin Analysis at Imperial College. Part structural geologist, part sedimentologist by background, he uses seismic reflection, borehole and field data to understand the tectono-stratigraphic evolution of sedimentary basins. Chris has a particular focus on the structural development and syn-kinematic stratigraphy of rifts and salt-influenced passive margins. Joined Basin Research Editorial Board in 2013.

George Hilley (Editor)

Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences, Stanford University, Stanford, CA 94062, USA


George Hilley is an Associate Professor of Geological and Environmental Sciences at Stanford University. He uses field relationships, high-resolution topographic data, cosmogenic radionuclide abundances, and rule- and physics-based numerical models to understand how erosional landscapes (and their adjacent depositional systems) relate to plate-tectonic processes. Joined Basin Research Editorial Board in 2014.

Andreas Mulch (Editor)

Department of Earth Sciences, Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre, Senckenberganlage 25, D-60325 Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Institute of Geosciences, Goethe University Frankfurt, Altenhöferallee 1, 60438 Frankfurt, Germany


Andreas Mulch has worked in academic positions at the University of Minnesota, Stanford University and Leibniz University Hannover. He now holds a joint appointment by Goethe University Frankfurt and the Senckenberg Research Institute where he also serves as Vice Director General. He uses stable isotope geochemical tools to reconstruct the interactions between Earth surface processes and terrestrial paleoclimate. Key elements of his research include stable isotope paleoaltimetry including the tracing of meteoric water in different levels of continental crust. Joined Basin Research Editorial Board in 2014.

Editorial Board

P. A. Allen. Imperial College London, UK.
G. Bertotti. Delft University of Technology, Netherlands.
D. W. Burbank. University of California Santa Barbara, USA.
W. Cavazza. University of Bologna, Italy.
B. J. Coakley. University of Alaska, USA.
R. Davies. University of Alaska, USA.
F. Davila. Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina.
A. Densmore. Durham University, UK.
J. Dewey. University of California Davis, USA
R. Dorsey. University of Oregon, USA.
K. Gallagher. University of Rennes 1, France.
E. Garzanti. University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy.
C. N. Garzione. University of Rochester, USA.
G. Hampson. Imperial College London, UK.
S. Henriksen. Statoil Hydro Research Centre, Norway.
M. Huuse. University of Manchester, UK.
C. Johnson. University of Utah, USA.
M. Kominz. Western Michigan University, USA.
T. Lawton. New Mexico State University, USA.
S. F. Liu. China University of Geosciences, China.
C. Morley. PTTEP, Thailand.
S. Planke. Volcanic Basin Petroleum Research, Norway.
M. Pope. Texas A&M University, USA.
M. Scheck-Wenderoth. GeoForschungsZentrum, Germany.
H. D. Sinclair. The University of Edinburgh, UK.
J. Vergés. Institute of Earth Sciences, Spain.
S. Willett. ETH Zürich, Switzerland.