Molecular Ecology

Cover image for Vol. 26 Issue 14

Edited By: Loren Rieseberg

Impact Factor: 6.086

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2016: 6/48 (Evolutionary Biology); 9/153 (Ecology); 39/286 (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology)

Online ISSN: 1365-294X

Associated Title(s): Molecular Ecology Resources

Molecular Ecology Prize

The field of molecular ecology is a young and inherently interdisciplinary research area. As a consequence, research in molecular ecology is not currently represented by a single scientific society. Likewise, there is no body that actively promotes the discipline or recognizes its pioneers. To help fill this void, the editorial board of the journal Molecular Ecology created the Molecular Ecology Prize several years ago to recognize significant contributions to this area of research. A committee with a rotating membership was established to call for nominations and decide on prize winners. This international prize, which includes an engraved silver platter, thus far has been awarded to some of the most distinguished pioneers in this discipline. A short biography of the prize winner is published in Molecular Ecology each year, describing their contribution to the field. These are listed below.

Previous winners of the Molecular Ecology Prize:

2017: Nancy Moran (biography to follow)

2016: Louis Bernatchez

2015: Fred Allendorf

2014: Johanna Schmitt

2013: Laurent Excoffier

2012: Craig Moritz

2011: Deborah Charlesworth

2010: Josephine Pemberton

2009: Terry Burke

2008: Harry Smith

2007: Pierre Taberlet

2006: John C. Avise

2005: Godfrey Hewitt