The Plant Journal

Cover image for Vol. 93 Issue 5

Edited By: Lee Sweetlove

Impact Factor: 5.901

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2016: 14/212 (Plant Sciences)

Online ISSN: 1365-313X

Recently Published Issues

See all

Recent Special Issues

Here are some of the most recent special and virtual issues from the journal:

May 2017 Special Issue
Plant Science from The Plant Journal Editors' Perspective

The Plant Journal Synthetic Biology for Basic and Applied Plant Research

June 2017 Special Issue
Plant Abiotic Stress

The Plant Journal Synthetic Biology for Basic and Applied Plant Research

July 2016 Special Issue
Synthetic Biology for Basic and Applied Plant Research

The Plant Journal Synthetic Biology for Basic and Applied Plant Research

To read more Special Issues published in The Plant Journal please click here.

News and Announcements

Introducing the new Research Highlights series in The Plant Journal!

From October 2017, each issue of The Plant Journal will feature a free Commentary paper on a selected key article. The following Research Highlights papers are now available and FREE to read…

Surprise: The classic white seedling 3 mutant in maize lacks plastoquinone-9 but can still make carotenoids

Unilateral incompatibility is linked to reduced pollen expression of a farnesyl pyrophosphate synthase

Nanoscale imaging of xyloglucan in plant cell walls

Rhizobial strain-dependent restriction of nitrogen fixation in a legume-Rhizobium symbiosis

Manipulating the cell/air space ratio to optimize photosynthesis

Read all of the Research Highlights here.

Welcome to the new Editor-in-Chief

We are pleased to introduce Lee Sweetlove who took on the Editorship of The Plant Journal in July 2017.
Lee Sweetlove

Lee received his BSc (1992) in Biological Sciences from the University of Anglia and DPhil (1995) from the University of Cambridge. Moving to the Department of Plant Sciences at the University of Oxford to undertake postdoctoral research, he then started his own research laboratory before being appointed as a Professor in Plant Sciences in 2008. His research continues to focus on plant metabolism, using a combination of experimental and modelling approaches to understand the functioning of plant metabolic networks, with the ultimate goal of exploiting this knowledge to re-engineer crops for improved yield and quality.

Thank you to reviewers

• Average time from Submission to First Decision - 28 days!