Ecology Letters

Cover image for Vol. 17 Issue 10

Editor-in-Chief : Marcel Holyoak

Impact Factor: 13.042

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2013: 2/140 (Ecology)

Online ISSN: 1461-0248

Editorial Board


Editor-in-Chief
Marcel Holyoak
Department of Environmental Science and Policy
University of California
1 Shields Ave
Davis, CA 95616
USA
email: Maholyoak@Ucdavis.Edu

Founding Editor
Michael Hochberg

Senior Editor
Peter H Thrall
CSIRO Plant Industry
GPO Box 1600
Canberra ACT 2601
Australia
email: peter.thrall@csiro.au

Reviews & Syntheses
Jonathan Chase
German Centre for Integrative Biodiversity Research
Deutscher Platz 5e
04103 Leipzig
Germany
email: jonathan.chase@idiv.de

Helmut Hillebrand
University of Oldenburg
Institute for Chemistry and Biology of the Marine Environment
Schleusenstrasse 1
26382 Wilhelmshaven
Germany
email: hillebrand@icbm.de

Ideas & Perspectives
Jordi Bascompte
Estación Biológica de Doñana, CSIC
C/ Americo Vespucio s/n
E-41092 Sevilla
Spain
email: bascompte@ebd.csic.es

Editorial Office
Managing Editor
Nathalie Espuno
ecolets@cefe.cnrs.fr

Editorial Assistant
Stephane Hello
ecolets2@cefe.cnrs.fr

Ecology Letters Editorial Office
CEFE-CNRS
1919 route de Mende
34293 Montpellier cedex 5
France

Editors
Frederick R. Adler
email: adler@math.utah.edu
Theoretical ecology, theoretical evolutionary ecology, evolutionary ecology, biodiversity, mathematical epidemiology, population dynamics

Priyanga Amarasekare, USA
email: amarasek@uchicago.edu
Theoretical ecology, spatial dynamics, species interactions, consumer-resource dynamics

Marti J. Anderson, New Zealand
e-mail: mja@stat.auckland.ac.nz
Analysis of community data, biodiversity, statistics, environmental impact, experimental design, multivariate analysis

Amy Angert, Canada
email: angert@mail.ubc.ca
Range limit, demography, population dynamics, species coexistence, local adaptation

Hector T. Arita, Mexico
email: arita@oikos.unam.mx
Macroecology, ecological models, diversity, distribution, vertebrates, North America, Neotropics, ecomorphology

Minus van Baalen, France
email: minus.van.baalen@ens.fr
Evolution of population interactions, spatial dynamics, group and kin selection, communication

Richard D. Bardgett, UK
email: richard.bardgett@manchester.ac.uk
Soil ecology, soil biodiversity and ecosystem function, herbivory,nitrogen and carbon cycling, terrestrial ecology

David R. Bellwood, Australia
email: david.bellwood@jcu.edu.au
Coral Reefs, Biogeography, Ecosystem Function, Fishes, Herbivory, Resilience

Bernd Blasius, Germany
email: bernd@agnld.uni-potsdam.de
Theoretical ecology, spatial ecology, population dynamics, modeling, synchronization, outbreaks, infectious diseases

Michael Bonsall, UK
email: michael.bonsall@zoo.ox.ac.uk
Population Biology, theoretical ecology, evolutionary ecology, spatial dynamics, species interactions, consumer-resource dynamics

Andrew Bourke, UK
email: A.Bourke@uea.ac.uk
Social insect, evolutionary ecology, behavioural ecology, social evolution, insect

Corey Bradshaw, Australia
email: corey.bradshaw@adelaide.edu.au
Conservation, population dynamics, density dependence, extinction, harvest, Allee effects, extinction, regulation, prediction

Lauren Buckley, USA
email: buckley@bio.unc.eduk
Biogeography of climate change, biodiversity, ecological forecasting, physiology, species distribution models

Yvonne M. Buckley, Ireland
email: y.buckley@uq.edu.au
Population ecology, invasive plants, biocontrol, population dynamics, optimal management, plant ecology

James (Jeb) E Byers, USA
email: jebyers@uga.edu
Invasive species, trematode parasites, marine ecology, ecosystem engineers, competition, conservation biology, marine reserves, parasite mediated interactions, population ecology, community ecology

Brenda Casper, USA
email: bcasper@sas.upenn.edu
Arbuscular mycorrhizal community structure, niche partitioning in arbuscular mycorrhizae, arbuscular mycorrhizae and soil properties, plant-soil feedback, belowground plant competition, plant community structure, pollination ecology, fruit and seed abortion, incompatibility systems, resource allocation in plants

Jerome Chave, France
email: chave@cict.fr
Biodiversity models, population dynamics, statistical physics, tropical forests, carbon cycle in the tropics, allometry

Aimée Classen, USA
email: aimee.classen@utk.edu
Ecosystem, climate change, insect herbivory, soil microbial activity, old fields

Elsa Cleland, USA
email: ecleland@ucsd.edu
Plant community ecology, ecosystem ecology, global change, phenology, invasion, metaanalysis, nitrogen, phosphorus, plant-soil interactions, experiment

Jean Clobert, France
email: jclobert@snv.jussieu.fr
Life history evolution, population and metapopulation dynamics, dispersal, behavioral ecology, physiological ecology, conservation

Howard Cornell, USA
email: cornell@udel.edu
Community, diversity, richness, local, regional, plant/animal

Franck Courchamp, France
email: franck.courchamp@u-psud.fr
Population dynamics, Conservation biology, Allee effects, Invasion biology, Trophic interactions, Overexploitation, Climate change, Biodiversity

Nicole M. van Dam, The Netherlands
email: n.vandam@nioo.knaw.nl
Chemical plant ecology, multitrophic interactions, herbivores, costs and benefits, induction signalling, induced defenses, plant-insect interactions, glucosinolates, alkaloids, plant-nematode interactions

Giulio De Leo, Italy
email: giulio.deleo@unipr.it
Population dynamics, host-parasite dynamics, Renewable Resource Management, Fishery management, Population Viability Analysis

Luc De Meester, Belgium
email: Luc.DeMeester@bio.kuleuven.be
Evolutionary ecology, zooplankton, micro-evolution, metacommunities, aquatic ecology, eco-evolutionary dynamics

John Drake, USA
email: john@drakeresearchlab.com
Demographic stochasticity, ecology, forest, extinction, ecology, biogeochemistry, infectious disease, ecology, ecophysiology, Daphnia

Jennifer Dunne, USA
email: jdunne@santafe.edu
Food web structure, trophic dynamics, ecological networks, extinctions, diversity and stability, theoretical ecology, paleoecology, ecoinformatics

Dieter Ebert, Switzerland
email: dieter.ebert@unibas.ch
Parasite evolution, host evolution, metagenomics, coevolution, population genetics, experimental evolution

Brian J. Enquist, USA
email: benquist@u.arizona.edu
Plant functional ecology, macroecology, scaling, allometry, community ecology, ecophysiology, tropical ecology,global ecology, ecoinformatics

Rampal S. Etienne, The Netherlands
email: r.s.etienne@rug.nl
Community ecology, metabolic ecology, metapopulation ecology, neutral theory, evolutionary community ecology

Micky Eubanks, USA
email: m-eubanks@tamu.edu
Plant-insect interactions, mutualisms, biological control, herbivory, predator-prey interactions, plant mating systems, apparent competition, invasion ecology, ant ecology, indirect effects

Marco Festa-Bianchet, Canada
email: m.festa@USherbrooke.ca
Population ecology, ungulates, parental care, mating strategy, density-dependence, reproductive strategy

Noah Fierer, USA
email: noah.fierer@colorado.edu
Soil microbiology, soil ecology, microbial ecology, bacteria, archaea

Tadashi Fukami, USA
email: fukamit@stanford.edu
Community assembly, ecosystem processes, species interactions, diversification, invasions, restoration

Gregor Fussmann, Canada
email: gregor.fussmann@mcgill.ca
Population dynamics, community dynamics, evolutionary dynamics, predator-prey, food-web model, plankton, microcosm

Jean-Michel Gaillard, France
email: gaillard@biomserv.univ-lyon1.fr
Population Dynamics, Life history evolution, Demography, Senescence, Sex ratio variation, Vertebrate life history and demography

Mark O. Gessner
email: gessner@igb-berlin.de
Litter decomposition, ecosystem functioning, microbes, fungi, biodiversity, climate change impacts, stream, wetland, aquatic ecosystems ecology

Jose Gomez, Spain
email: jmgreyes@ugr.es
Plant-animal interaction, pollination ecology, coevolution, evolutionary ecology, genetical ecology, seed dispersal, plant reproductive ecology, phenotypic evolution, natural selection

Dominique Gravel, Canada
email: dominique_gravel@uqar.ca
Community ecology, neutral ecology, spatial ecology, niche theory, food web, network, dispersal, metacommunity, heterogeneity, metaecosystem

Gregory Grether, USA
email: ggrether@ucla.edu
Evolutionary behavioural ecology, sexual selection, interference competition, character displacement, animal coloration

James Grover, USA
email: grover@exchange.uta.edu
Community ecology, Microbial ecology, limnology, theoretical ecology, plant ecology, ecological stoichiometry, nutrient dynamics

Jessica Gurevitch, USA
email: jgurvtch@life.bio.sunysb.edu
Community ecology, plant ecology, spatial processes, invasions, statistics

Nick Haddad, USA
email: nick_haddad@ncsu.edu
Corridor, connectivity, habitat fragmentation, rare species, biodiversity

Luke Harmon, USA
email: lukeh@uidaho.edu
Phylogeny, comparative method, character evolution, community ecology, neutral models

Fangliang He, Canada
email: fhe@ualberta.ca
Spatial ecology, species diversity, community ecology, biostatistics, landscape ecology

Mikko Heino, Norway
email: mikko.heino@bio.uib.no
Life history evolution, fisheries ecology, harvesting, spatially structured populations

Jane K Hill, UK
email: jkh6@york.ac.uk
Climate change, habitat fragmentation, biodiversity, insect conservation

Janneke Hille Ris Lambers, USA
email: jhrl@u.washington.edu
Diversity, invasions, statistics, ecology, global change

Dave Hodgson, UK
email: D.J.Hodgson@exeter.ac.uk
Biodiversity, stage-structured models, perturbation, disturbance, population dynamics, evolutionary ecology

David Hooper, USA
email: hooper@biol.wwu.edu
Ecosystem processes, plant diversity, biogeochemical processes, carbon balance, Arctic tundra, nutrient cycling, global change, species invasions, restoration ecology

David Hosken, UK
email: d.j.hosken@exeter.ac.uk
Sexual selection, sperm competition, sexual conflict, evolution, fitness, quantitative genetics, behaviour

Murray Humphries, Canada
email: murray.humphries@mcgill.ca
Mammal energetics, behaviour, resources, climate, boreal, rodents, metabolism

Rebecca Irwin, USA
email: rirwin@uga.edu
Pollination, herbivory, plant-animal interactions, species invasions, mutualisms, cheaters

Stephen Jackson, USA
email: jackson@uwyo.edu
Paleoecology, climate change, translational climate science, terrestrial plant ecology, conservation biology

Puni Jeyasingh, USA
email: puni.jeyasingh@okstate.edu
Ecological stoichiometry, limnology, evolutionary ecology, ecological physiology, ecological genetics, biogeochemistry, nutritional ecology

Nancy Johnson, USA
email: nancy.johnson@nau.edu
Microbial ecology, soil ecology, soil communities, mycorrhizas, mutualism, parasitism

Ferenc Jordàn, Hungary
email: jordan.ferenc@gmail.com
Community ecology, landscape ecology, network analysis, food web, keystone species, connectivity, fragmentation, network

David Kleijn, The Netherlands
email: David.Kleijn@wur.nl
Biodiversity, spatial ecology, landscape context, agro-ecology, evaluating conservation management, plant species richness, farmland birds, bumblebees

John N. Klironomos, Canada
email: jklirono@uoguelph.ca
Microbial ecology, plant-microbe interactions, mycorrhiza, fungal ecology, biodiversity and ecosystem function

Johannes M H Knops, USA
email: jknops2@unl.edu
Ecosystem ecology, nutrient cycling, plant ecology, biogeochemistry, biological invasions and biodiversity

Kevin Lafferty, USA
email: lafferty@lifesci.ucsb.edu
Parasite, disease, food web, trematode, snail, snowy plover, ecological network, kelp forest, estuary, Toxoplasma

Josh Lawler, USA
email: jlawler@u.washington.edu
Biodiversity, landscape pattern, habitat selection, Conservation planning, reserve selection, fragmentation, climate change, birds, landscape change

Andrew Liebhold, USA
email: aliebhold@fs.fed.us
Spatial dynamics, periodical cicadas, magicicada, Lymantria dispar, gypsy moth, forest insects, biological invasion, population dynamics, synchrony, Allee effect

Francisco Lloret, Spain
email: francisco.lloret@uab.es
Fire ecology, plant community, climate change, Mediterranean, community dynamics, plant ecology

Hafiz Maherali, Canada
email: maherali@uoguelph.ca
Evolutionary Physiology, Physiological Ecology, Evolutionary Ecology, Plant Functional Ecology, Ecosystem Ecology, Ecophylogenetics, Plant-Fungal Interactions, Global Change, Biological Invasions

Dustin Marshall, Australia
Email: d.marshall1@uq.edu.au
Fertilization, offspring size, metamorphosis, maternal effects, sexual selection, marine, polyandry, egg size

Arne Mooers, Canada
email: amooers@sfu.ca
Comparative Methods, Phylogenetics, Biodiversity, ENSO, Molecular evolution

Hélène Morlon, France
email: helene.morlon@polytechnique.edu
Macroevolution, biodiversity theory, macroecology, evolutionary ecology, community phylogenetics, microbial ecology, biogeography

David Mouillot, France
email: david.mouillot@univ-montp2.fr
Fish, functional diversity, macroecology, model, indices

Peter Mumby, Australia
email: p.j.mumby@uq.edu.au
Coral, marine, reserve, resilience, remote sensing

Ran Nathan, Israel
email: rnathan@cc.huji.ac.il
Movement ecology, seed dispersal, bird migration, foraging, long-distance dispersal, movement ecology

Ryan Norris, Canada
email: rnorris@uoguelph.ca
Population ecology, migration, stable isotopes, behavioural ecology, birds, connectivity

Sergio A. Navarrete, Chile
email: snavarrete@bio.puc.cl
Species diversity, predation, community ecology, larval transport, recruitment, experimental ecology, coastal oceanography, community regulation, Interaction strength, large-sale processes, top-down & bottom-up processes

Vojtech Novotny, Czech Republic
email: novotny@entu.cas.cz
Tropical forests, plant-insect interactions, insect communities, biodiversity, herbivory, food webs, conservation ecology

Rick Ostfeld, USA
email: ostfeldr@caryinstiutute.org
Infectious disease, biodiversity, community ecology, mammals, parasite ecology

John Pannell, Switzerland
email: john.pannell@unil.ch
Metapopulation, genetics, selection, plants

Josep Peñuelas, Spain
email: josep.penuelas@uab.es
Plant ecophysiology, ecosystem function, global change, atmosphere-biosphere interactions, remote sensing, Mediterranean ecosystems

Wim H. van der Putten, The Netherlands
email: W.vanderPutten@nioo.knaw.nl
Soil ecology, plant-soil feedback, multi-trophic interactions, linking above-belowground, plant defence, soil pathogens, nematodes, biological invasions

Helen Regan, USA
email: hregan@sciences.sdsu.edu
Quantitative conservation ecology, population models, uncertainty analysis, decision theory, risk assessment

Marcel Rejmanek, USA
email: mrejmanek@ucdavis.edu
Plant communities, plant invasions, regeneration of tropical forests, seed dispersal

Dov Sax, USA
email: Dov_Sax@brown.edu
Species invasions, conservation, extinction, climate change, range boundaries

Christoph Scherber, Germany
email: Christoph.Scherber@agr.uni-goettingen.de
Herbivory, biodiversity, plant-insect interactions, climate change, statistics

Katriona Shea, USA
email: k-shea@psu.edu
Biological invasions, theoretical ecology, applied theoretical ecology, population dynamics, dispersal

Andrew Sih, USA
email: asih@ucdavis.edu
Freshwater, behaviour, population ecology, community ecology, life history traits, evolution, species invasions, pesticides

Gabriele Sorci, France
email: gsorci@snv.jussieu.fr
Behavioural ecology, ecological immunology, life history, evolution, sexual selection

Bob Sterner, USA
email: stern007@d.umn.edu
Ecological stoichiometry, limnology, plankton, eutrophication, urban, nitrogen, phosphorus

David Storch, Czech Republic
email: storch@cts.cuni.cz
Macroecology, biodiversity patterns, spatial ecology, bird community ecology

Katharine Suding, USA
email ksuding@uci.edu
Alternative states, community structure, competition and coexistence, dispersal, ecosystem function, functional traits, invasion/invasive species, nitrogen cycling, plant-soil feedbacks, restoration, species loss

Wilfried Thuiller, France
email: wilfried.thuiller@ujf-grenoble.fr
Spatial ecology, Species distribution modelling, Global change biology, Biodiversity, Dynamic modelling, Biogeography, Functional plant ecology

Ted Turlings, Switzerland
email: ted.turlings@unine.ch
Chemical ecology, plant-insect ecology, tritrophic interactions

Maria Uriarte, USA
email: mu2126@columbia.edu
Forest ecology, secondary tropical forest, disturbance ecology, spatially-explicit models, hurricanes, seed dispersal

David Vasseur, USA
email: david.vasseur@yale.edu
Theoretical Ecology, consumer-resource mode, population dynamics, spectral analysis, food web, environmental variability

Mark Vellend, Canada
email: mvellend@mail.ubc.ca
Biodiversity, seed dispersal, plant ecology, metapopulations, land use history, genetic diversity, species diversity

Montserrat Vilà, Spain
email: montse.vila@ebd.csic.es
Invasions, disturbance, alien species, Mediterranean vegetation, plant competition

Colleen Webb, USA
email: ctwebb@lamar.colostate.edu
Modelling, evolutionary ecology, disease, spatial models, resilience

David F Westneat, USA
email: biodfw@email.uky.edu
Sexual selection, sexual conflict, extra-pair paternity, plasticity, mating behavior 

John J. Wiens, USA
email: wiensj@life.bio.sunysb.edu
Species richness, phylogeny, evolution, speciation, niche

Tim Wootton, USA
email: twootton@uchicago.edu
Experimental ecology, community ecology, marine ecology, river ecology, indirect effects, food web, interaction strength

Boris Worm, Canada
email: bworm@dal.ca
Marine conservation, biodiversity science, human impacts, aquatic food webs

SEARCH

SEARCH BY CITATION