Journal of Management Studies

Cover image for Vol. 54 Issue 1

Edited By: Dries Faems, Igor Filatotchev, Don Siegel (General Editors); Penny Dick, Daniel Muzio, Gerardo Patriotta, Corinne Post, Andrea Prencipe, John Prescott, Riikka Sarala, Li-Qun Wei (Associate Editors); Bill Harley, Maddy Janssens (Consulting Editors)

Impact Factor: 4.131

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2015: 8/120 (Business); 12/192 (Management)

Online ISSN: 1467-6486

Grigor McClelland Award

What is the Grigor McClelland Dissertation Award?

The Grigor McClelland Dissertation Award is an annual prize of £5,000 awarded to one author each year for innovative scholarship published within a PhD thesis in any discipline within management and organization studies. The award aims to recognize doctoral research that covers significantly new terrain, or that counters existing thinking within management and organizational studies. The award is supported by the Journal of Management Studies (JMS) and the Society for the Advancement of Management Studies (SAMS).

How to be Considered for the Award

Submissions for the 2013 award are now closed. Details of how to be considered for the 2014 award will be posted here in autumn 2013.

Award Committee and Judging Process

A jury of six senior management scholars representing SAMS, JMS and EGOS, will undertake the short-listing and selection of the award winner. The prize will be awarded to the work that, in the opinion of this jury, is truly novel and creative in its theory development, use of methods, or the empirical contexts covered in the dissertation.

The winner will be announced during a plenary session at the 2013 EGOS conference in Montréal, Canada. There will also be a smaller special session prior to or during the conference. In this special session the shortlisted candidates for the award (typically four) present their research, followed by the award presentation.

A stipend of up to £500 will be awarded to each of the finalists to cover reasonable travel expenses for attending this session. Runners up will also be awarded £1,000 each.