International Journal of Systematic Theology

Cover image for Vol. 18 Issue 2

Edited By: John Webster, Paul Nimmo, Matthew Levering and Martin Westerholm

Online ISSN: 1468-2400

Colin Gunton Memorial Essay Prize

Editorial Announcement


SST/IJST Colin Gunton Memorial Essay Prize


The Society for the Study of Theology and the International Journal of Systematic Theology award an annual essay prize in memory of Colin Gunton. The competition is now entering its eleventh year, although no award of the prize was made in 2013.


The topic for the 2014 prize is:


The work of Jesus Christ


As the prize celebrates Colin Gunton’s contribution to constructive Christian theology, essays should work within the same broad area of systematic theology. Entry to the competition is restricted to current students and to those within three years of their doctoral graduation at the closing date. Entries will be judged on academic merit. The winner of the 2014 prize will be invited to attend the SST annual conference in 2015, where a presentation of the prize of £200 will be made at the conference reception. The winning essay will be published in the IJST; other competition entries may also be considered for publication.


Essays must follow the ‘Submission Requirements for Journal Articles’ found on the inside back cover of the IJST and on the IJST web-site, with the additional proviso that there is an absolute word limit on entries of 8,000 words (including abstract and footnotes). Essays should not include the author’s name, be under consideration for publication elsewhere, or have been published previously. The closing date for entries is Friday, 31st October 2014. The judges (two from the SST and two from the IJST) hope to make their decision by January 2015, and competing authors will be informed of the result by February 2015.


Entries should be e-mailed both to Dr David Grumett, the Secretary of the SST, and to Professor Paul Nimmo, an Editor of the IJST, at the following addresses:

Previous Topics and Winners

'The doctrine of creation'
Prize not awarded

2012: 'The theology of sanctification'
Christ Existing in Ordinary: Dietrich Bonhoeffer and Sanctification
Mark Knight, University of Cambridge

2011: 'The theology of providence'
Prize not awarded

2010: 'The theology of prayer'
Attending to the Sabbath: An Alternative Direction in Karl Barth’s Theology of Prayer
Ashley Cocksworth, Trinity College, Cambridge

2009: 'Does ecumenical theology have a future?'
Prize not awarded

2008: 'What is theological interpretation?'
The Character of Theological Interpretation of Scripture
Mark Alan Bowald, Reedemer University, Ancaster ON

2007: 'The Spirit in the Church'
The Spirit in the Church: The Universal Christ, Particular Spirit and Christian Unity
Mark Weedman, Crossroads College, Rochester MI

2006: 'The infinity of God'
The Infinity of God in the Biblical Theology of Denys the Areopagite
Dennis Hou, Thousand Oaks CA

2005: 'The sinlessness of Jesus'
Prize not awarded

2004: 'How is Christ present to the world?'
How is Christ Present to the World?
Terry J. Wright, Spurgeon's College, London

The SST and the IJST would like to offer their congratulations to each winner, and their thanks to all those who entered.