Journal of Neurochemistry

Cover image for Vol. 134 Issue 5

Edited By: Jörg Schulz

Impact Factor: 4.281

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2014: 55/252 (Neurosciences); 72/289 (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology)

Online ISSN: 1471-4159

Mark A Smith Prize

The Mark A. Smith Prize
The Editors' Award will now be known as the Mark A. Smith prize to pay tribute to Mark's long service to the Journal as a Handling Editor and recently Deputy Chief Editor, Reviews. Tragically, Mark was killed in a vehicle accident on December 19, 2010.

This annual award, instigated in 2009, is in recognition of the contribution of an outstanding young scientist to an exceptional research paper published in the Journal of Neurochemistry.

To be eligible, first or last authors must be 35 years or younger on the date of submission of the article and no more than 8 years beyond PhD. The Chief and Deputy Chief Editors select the winning paper from all the qualifying articles that appear 'early view' in the award year.

The 2014 Mark A. Smith Prize Winner

2014 Mark A. Smith Prize Winner Congratulations to Stefania Averaimo PhD, for CLIC1 functional expression is required for cAMP-induced neurite elongation in post-natal mouse retinal ganglion cells (2014) J Neurochem 131(4), 444-456.
Stefania Averaimo, Marta Gritti, Erica Barini, Laura Gasparini and Michele Mazzanti. DOI: 10.1111/jnc.12832

Dr. Averaimo received her doctorate degree in 2012 at the University of Milan, Italy, in the laboratory of Prof. Mazzanti. She published her work in a number of papers and scientific meetings. She is currently a postdoctoral fellow in Dr Prof. Xavier Nicol’s lab at the Institut de la Vision in Paris, France, working on retinal axon guidance and regeneration.

The 2013 Mark A. Smith Prize Winner

2013 Mark A. Smith Prize WinnerCongratulations to Stefania Averaimo, PhD, for Rac1-mediated indentation of resting neurons promotes the chain migration of new neurons in the rostral migratory stream of post-natal mouse brain J Neurochem 128(6), 790-797. Takao Hikita, Akihisa Ohno, Masato Sawada, Haruko Ota and Kazunobu Sawamoto. DOI: 10.1111/jnc.12518
Dr. Hikita earned his PhD in the Department of Cell Pharmacology at the Nagoya University Graduate School of Medicine in Japan. He currently holds a PostDoc position at the Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research in Bad Nauheim, Germany. The winning paper sheds light on cell migration mechanisms using cutting edge techniques such as live cell imaging, and thus has broad appeal and impact in the neurochemistry and neuroscience fields.

The 2012 Mark A. Smith Prize Winner

2012 Mark A. Smith Prize Winner

Congratulations to Sonya B. Dumanis, PhD, for APOE genotype affects the pre-synaptic compartment of glutamatergic nerve terminals J Neurochem 124(1), 4-14. Sonya B. Dumanis, Amanda M. DiBattista, Matthew Miessau, Charbel E. H. Moussa and G. William Rebeck. DOI: 10.1111/j.1471-4159.2012.07908.x
The article was highlighted in “Apolipoprotein E Acts at Presynaptic Sites… Among Others” in the same issue.
Dr. Dumanis earned her B.A. with major Neuroscience & Behavior at Columbia University, New York City. She continued her studies at Georgetown University, Washington D.C. where she completed her PhD in William Rebeck’s lab in 2013. She has authored and co-authored a number of research papers, presented her work at international meetings and was awarded several prizes such as a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship and Predoctoral National Research Service Award (NRSA).

The 2011 Mark A. Smith Prize Winner

2011 Mark A. Smith Prize Winner

Congratulations to Joanne L. Bailey, PhD, for In vitro CNS tissue analogues formed by self-organization of reaggregated post-natal brain tissue, J. Neurochem. 117, 1020-1032. Joanne L. Bailey, Vincent O’Connor,Matthew Hannah, Lindsay Hewlett, Thelma E. Biggs, Lars E. Sundstrom, Matt W. Findlay, and John E. Chad (2011).

 Dr. Bailey earned a first-class honours degree from the University of Southampton in 2006 and completed her PhD in 2010. Currently, Joanne is a research fellow in Dr. Tracey Newman’s laboratory in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Southampton

The 2010 Mark A. Smith Prize Winner

Mark A Smith Prize winner 2010

Congratulations to Jennie Cederholm for Conformational changes in extracellular loop 2 associated with signal transduction in the glycine receptor, J. Neurochem. 115, 1245-1255. Jennie M. E. Cederholm, Nathan L. Absalom, Silas Sugiharto, Renate Griffith, Peter R. Schofield and Trevor M. Lewis (2010).

The 2009 Editors' Award winner
Congratulations to Gautam K. Gandhi MD, PhD forAstrocytes are poised for lactate trafficking and release from activated brain and for supply of glucose to neurons J. Neurochem.111, 522-536. Gautam K. Gandhi, Nancy F. Cruz, Kelly K. Ball, Gerald A. Dienel (2009).