Review of Income and Wealth

Cover image for Vol. 62 Issue 2

Edited By: Conchita D'Ambrosio and Prasada Rao

Impact Factor: 1.078

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2015: 133/344 (Economics)

Online ISSN: 1475-4991

The John W. Kendrick Prize

The Kendrick prize was originally launched in 1990 as recognition for the best article published each year in the Review of Income and Wealth. The prize was a named after John W. Kendrick, a long-standing member of the I.A.R.I.W. and a leading scholar on the measurement of economic growth and productivity in the United States, and who provided a generous donation to finance the prize for the first couple of years.

During the early years of the award, from 1990 through 1995, a Prize was awarded for each year of the publication of the RIW, with first, second, and third place awards.

After falling dormant for a number of years, the I.A.R.I.W. Council and Editorial Board reinstalled the prize in 2008 as a means to recognize and show appreciation for the important contributions that many scholars make to research on income and wealth, by publishing their paper in the Association’s journal. Articles published in the previous two years of the RIW were considered for the Prize. Two awards were granted in 2008: one for the best microeconomic paper and one for the best macroeconomic paper during the 2006 and 2007 period.

This selection format was followed again in 2010 and now again in 2012. The prize was awarded at the 32nd General Conference of I.A.R.I.W. and relates to papers published in the 2010 and 2011 issues. The prize consists of a total amount of 1000 US$ for each paper.

These papers can all be viewed below along with the most recent Prize winners to date:

Winners of the John W. Kendrick Prize for 2015 and 2016, and published in 2014 and 2015, are:
• Joachim Merz and Tim Rathjen, 'Time and Income Poverty: An Interdependent Multidimensional Poverty Approach with German Time Use Diary Data', 2014, pp. 450-479
• Martina Celidoni, 'Decomposing Vulnerability to Poverty' 2015, pp. 59-74

Winners of the John W. Kendrick Prize for 2014, and published in 2012 and 2013, are:
• Janine Aron, John V. Duca, John Muellbauer, Keiko Murata, and Anthony Murphy, 'Credit, Housing Collateral, and Consumption: Evidence from Japan, the U.K., and the U.S.', 2012, pp. 397-423
• Thomas Bossuroy and Denis Cogneau, 'Social Mobility in Five African Countries', 2013, pp. S84-S110

Winners of the John W. Kendrick Prize for 2012, and published in 2010 or 2011, are:
• Olympia Bover, ‘Wealth Inequality and Household Structure: U.S. vs. Spain’, 2010, pp. 259-290.
• Robert E. Lipsey, ‘Measuring the Location of Production in a world of Intangible productive Assets, FDI, and Intrafirm Trade’, 2010, pp. S99-S110.

Winners for Articles Published in 2008 and 2009
• Carol Corrado, Charles Hulten, and Daniel Sichel, 'Intangible Capital and U.S. Economics Growth’, 2009, pp. 661-685;
• Kevin Milligan, 'How Household Portfolios Evolve After Retirement: The Effect of Aging and Health Shocks', 2009, pp. 226-248.

Winners for Articles Published in 2006 and 2007
• François Bourguignon, Francisco H. G. Ferreira, and Marta Menendez, 'Inequality of Opportunity in Brazil’, 2007, pp. 585-618;
• Branko Milanovic, 'An Estimate of Average Income and Inequality in Byzantine Around Year 1000’, 2006, pp. 449-470.