The Modern Language Journal

Cover image for Vol. 100 Issue 4

Edited by: Heidi Byrnes, Editor-in-Chief; Charlene Polio, Co-Editor; Andrea Bryant, Editorial Assistant

Impact Factor: 1.188

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2015: 42/181 (Linguistics); 71/231 (Education & Educational Research)

Online ISSN: 1540-4781

Society Information

As stated in its bylaws, the purpose of the National Federation of Modern Language Teachers Associations (NFMLTA) is the "expansion, promotion, and improvement of the teaching of languages, literatures, and cultures throughout the United States, by a variety of activities, including but not limited to the publication of The Modern Language Journal." Publication of the journal is the major activity of the NFMLTA.

The NFMLTA Board of Directors:

President, NFMLTA: Antonia Schleicher
President-Elect, NFMLTA: Dr. Lara Lomicka Anderson
Treasurer, NFMLTA: Daryl Biallas
Editor, MLJ: Heidi Byrnes
Jayne Abrate, AATF
John Carlino, NYSAFLT
Martha Castaneda, OFLA
Keith Cothrun, AATG
Rebecca K. Fox, NECTFL
Christopher Gwin, FLENJ
David Jahner, SCOLT
Jody Klopp, SWCOLT
Patrick T. Raven, CSCTFL
Colleen M. Ryan, Ph. D., AAUSC
Emily Spinelli, AATSP

Established in 1916, the membership of the NFMLTA now includes eleven associations representing those involved in the teaching of modern languages:

American Association of Teachers of French (AATF)
American Association of Teachers of German (AATG)
American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP)
American Association of University Supervisors, Coordinators, and Directors of Foreign Language Programs (AAUSC)
Central States Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (CSCTFL)
Foreign Language Educators of New Jersey (FLENJ)
New York State Association of Foreign Language Teachers (NYSAFLT)
Northeast Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (NECTFL)
Ohio Foreign Language Association (OFLA)
Southern Conference on Language Teaching (SCOLT)
Southwest Conference on Language Teaching (SWCOLT)