Presidential Studies Quarterly

Cover image for Vol. 47 Issue 2

Edited By: George C. Edwards III

Online ISSN: 1741-5705

Editorial Board

Managing Editor
Lauren Brand, Texas A&M University

Book Review Editor, The Presidency and Rhetoric
James J. Kimble, Seton Hall University

Book Review Editor, Presidency and History
Luke A. Nitchter, Texas A&M University-Central Texas

Book Review Editor, Presidency and Political Science and Law
Nancy Kassop, SUNY New Paltz

Feature Editor: The Law
Louis Fisher, The Constitution Project

Feature Editors: Polls and Elections
Costas Panagopoulas, Fordham University

Feature Editor: The Contemporary Presidency
James Pfiffner, George Mason University 

Feature Editor: The Historical Presidency
Richard J. Ellis, Willamette University 

Editorial Board
Peri E. Arnold, University of Notre Dame  
Vanessa Beasley, University of Georgia
Jon Bond, Texas A&M University
Douglas Brinkley, Rice University
Brandice Canes-Wrone, Princeton University
Jeffrey Cohen, Fordham University
Matthew Dickinson, Middlebury College 
Lloyd C. Gardner, Rutgers University   
Roderick P. Hart, University of Texas, Austin  
William Howell, University of Chicago
Robert Ivie, Indiana University  
Lawrence Jacobs, University of Minnesota
Gary C. Jacobson, University of California, San Diego  
Kathleen Hall Jamieson, University of Pennsylvania
Charles O. Jones, University of Wisconsin  
Samuel Kernell, University of California, San Diego 
Thomas J. Knock, Southern Methodist University
Martha Kumar, Towson State University  
David E. Lewis, Vanderbilt University
Paul Light, New York University 
James M. McPherson, Princeton University 
Martin J. Medhurst, Baylor University 
Kenneth J. Meier, Texas A&M University 
Bruce Miroff, SUNY, Albany  
Terry Moe, Stanford University
Paul Quirk, University of British Columbia
Lyn K. Ragsdale, Rice University     
Bert Rockman, Purdue University
Andrew Rudalevige, Bowdoin College
Robert Y. Shapiro, Columbia University  
Stephen Skowronek, Yale University
Mary Stuckey, Georgia State University  
Terry Sullivan, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Charles Walcott, Virginia Polytechnic Institute
Stephen Wayne, Georgetown University
Stephen Weatherford, University of California, Santa Barbara
B. Dan Wood, Texas A&M University
David Zarefsky, Northwestern University

About the Editor

George C. Edwards III is University Distinguished Professor of Political Science and Jordan Chair in Presidential Studies at Texas A&M University. He has served as both the Winant Professor of American Government and the Olin Professor of American Government at Oxford, the John Adams Fellow at the University of London, and in senior visiting positions at Sciences Po-Paris, Peking University, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. He is an Associate Member of Nuffield College, a Supernumerary Fellow of Balliol College, and a Distinguished Fellow at the Rothermere American Institute at Oxford and was the founder and from 1991-2001 the director of The Center for Presidential Studies.

Edwards has written or edited 25 books on American politics and public policy making and is editor of Presidential Studies Quarterly and general editor of theOxford Handbook of American Politics (Oxford University Press) series. Among his recent books, On Deaf Ears: The Limits of the Bully Pulpit (Yale University Press) examines the effectiveness of presidential leadership of public opinion; Why the Electoral College Is Bad for America (Yale University Press) evaluates the consequences of the method of electing the president; Governing by Campaigning (Pearson) analyzes the politics of the Bush presidency; and The Strategic President (Princeton University Press) offers a new formulation for understanding presidential leadership. His most recent book, Overreach (Princeton University Press), analyzes presidential leadership during the Obama presidency.

Professor Edwards has served as president of the Presidency Research Section of the American Political Science Association, which has named its annual dissertation prize in his honor and awarded him its Career Service Award. A member of Phi Beta Kappa and a Woodrow Wilson Fellow, he has received the Decoration for Distinguished Civilian Service from the U.S. Army and the Pi Sigma Alpha Prize from the Southern Political Science Association. He is also a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. He has spoken to more than 250 universities and other groups in the U.S. and abroad, keynoted numerous national and international conferences, done several thousand interviews with the national and international press, and can be heard on National Public Radio. Grants from the National Science Foundation, the Smith-Richardson Foundation, and the Ford Foundation have funded his work. He has served on the Board of Directors of the Roper Center, the Board of Trustees of the Center for the Study of the Presidency, and many editorial boards.

Dr. Edwards also applies his scholarship to practical issues of governing, including advising Brazil on its constitution and the operation of its presidency, Russia on building a democratic national party system, Mexico on elections, and Chinese scholars on democracy. He also authored studies for the 1988 and 2000 U.S. presidential transitions.