FEBS Journal

Cover image for Vol. 281 Issue 14

Edited By: Seamus Martin

Impact Factor: 4.25

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2012: 74/290 (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology)

Online ISSN: 1742-4658

New members of the Editorial Board

We are very pleased to welcome five new members of the Editorial Board:
Seamus Martin, Dublin (Editor-in-Chief from 1 January 2014); Lawrence Banks, Trieste; Masashi Narita, Cambridge; Anne Spang, Basel; Joe Trapani, Melbourne

Seamus Martin, Dublin (Editor-in-Chief)

Smurfit Institute of Genetics, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
E-mail: martin@camfebs.co.uk

Seamus Martin

Professor Seamus J. Martin holds the Smurfit Chair of Medical Genetics at the Smurfit Institute of Genetics, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland. He obtained his PhD under Tom Cotter at the National University of Ireland, followed by post-doctoral fellowships with Ivan Roitt at UCL, London, UK and Doug Green at The La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology, California, USA. He works on all aspects of cell death control and is especially interested in the links between apoptosis, necrosis and inflammation. He received the GlaxoSmithKline Award of The Biochemical Society for his work on unraveling the caspase activation cascade and was elected to the Royal Irish Academy in 2006 and EMBO in 2009. He has served on the editorial boards of several journals and BECOMES the Editor-in-Chief of the FEBS Journal from 1 January 2014.

Lawrence Banks, Trieste

Virology Laboratory, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Trieste, Italy
E-mail: banks@icgeb.org

Lawrence Banks

Dr Lawrence Banks obtained his Ph.D from the University of Leeds, UK in 1984 for work on herpes simplex virus. He performed post-doctoral studies at the Imperial Cancer Research Fund and the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in London, UK, where he developed his interests in p53 and human papillomaviruses. In 1990 he started his own laboratory at the International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology in Trieste, Italy, which is a research and training organization dedicated towards the needs of the developing world.

Dr Banks’ research is focused on human papillomaviruses. Part of this involves dissection of the mechanism of action of the viral oncoproteins E6 and E7, with emphasis on their cellular target proteins, in particular the role of E6-PDZ interactions and the perturbation of cell polarity in the development of cervical cancer. Another research area aims to understand the mechanism by which HPV virions are trafficked within the cell, concentrating on the L2 capsid protein and analysis of how it interacts with endosomal sorting pathways.

Masashi Narita, Cambridge

Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, Cambridge, UK
E-mail: Masashi.Narita@cruk.cam.ac.uk

Masashi Narita

Dr Masashi Narita obtained his MD in Osaka University School of Medicine in Japan in 1992. After 4 years training in the Department of Surgery in Osaka University and its affiliated hospitals, he started his PhD studies on apoptosis at the Graduate School of Medicine Osaka University. In 2000, he moved to the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory (CSHL) to do his postdoc research related to cellular senescence as a tumour suppressor mechanism in Professor Scott Lowe’s group. In 2006, he joined Cancer Research UK, Cambridge Institute as a group leader.

In CSHL, Dr Narita contributed to the identification of senescence-associated heterochromatic foci (SAHFs), which have since been used widely as a marker of senescence. The Narita group continues to study mechanisms for SAHF formation and its implication in gene regulation during senescence. In addition, since senescence is a heterogeneous phenotype involving multiple effector mechanisms, the group is actively searching for new senescence effectors and characterizing functional integration between those effector mechanisms of senescence.

Anne Spang, Basel

Biozentrum, University of Basel, Basel, Switzerland
E-mail: anne.spang@unibas.ch

Anne Spang

Professor Anne Spang did her graduate work with Elmar Schiebel at the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Martinsried. In 1996 she moved to UC Berkeley for her postdoc, followed by the Friedrich Miescher Laboratory of the Max Planck Society in Tuebingen as an independent group leader. In 2005 she was appointed Professor of Biochemistry at the Biozentrum of the University of Basel in Switzerland. Professor Spang has been the recipient of several honors and awards including the Walther Flemming Medal of the German Society for Cell Biology in 2005 and the Binder Innovation Prize in 2010; she was elected a member of EMBO in 2009.

The members of the Spang lab are interested in intracellular protein, mRNA and membrane transport. Their main goals are to understand how intracellular transport contributes to cell polarity and organogenesis and how defects in these processes cause disease. In addition, the group studies the cellular responses to stress in terms of modulating mRNA decay pathways.

Joe Trapani, Melbourne

Sir Peter MacCallum Department of Oncology, Melbourne, Australia
E-mail: joe.trapani@petermac.org

Joe Trapani

Joe Trapani is Executive Director Cancer Research, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Melbourne, where he co-heads the Cancer Immunology Program. Professor Trapani’s research interests include the immunopathology of viral and auto-immune diseases, apoptosis induction by cytotoxic lymphocytes and cancer immunotherapy. He has authored more than 240 research papers, reviews and book chapters on these topics. Joe Trapani is also a member of the Executive (Board) and Chair of the Medical and Scientific Committee of the Cancer Council Victoria and of many peer-review bodies in academia and industry.

In 2012, Professor Trapani received an award from the Wellcome Trust (UK), to lead a consortium of Australian and New Zealand research teams, aiming to develop a new class of immune-suppressive drugs that protect transplanted bone marrow stem cells against immune destruction mediated by the pore-forming protein perforin.