Surgical Practice

Cover image for Vol. 21 Issue 1

Edited By: Paul B.S. Lai

Online ISSN: 1744-1633

Recently Published Issues

See all

Most downloaded papers 2015

Laparoscopic excision of infected urachal cyst: Illustration of technique
Dennis Chung-Kei Ng, Kevin Kwok-Kay Yau, Michael Ka-Wah Li

Spontaneous rupture of incisional hernia associated with pregnancy
Utpal De, Ramdip Ray

Superior mesenteric artery first approach with first jejunal vein-oriented mesenteric excision in pancreatoduodenectomy
Takao Ohtsuka, Masafumi Nakamura, Masao Tanaka

Blood transfusion and Jehovah's Witnesses revisited: Implications for surgeons
David S.Y. Wong

Risk factors for seizures and antiepileptic drug-associated adverse effects in high-grade glioma patients: A multicentre, retrospective study in Hong Kong
Peter Yat-Ming Woo, Danny Tat-Ming Chan, Kwong-Yau Chan, Wai-Kei Wong, Yin-Chung Po, John Ching-Kong Kwok, Wai-Sang Poon

Suture versus staple for fixation of mesh in incisional hernia repair
Raminder S. Dhillon, Ralph Van Dalen

Risk factors for delayed gastric emptying after pancreatoduodenectomy
Charing Ching-Ning Chong, Kit-Fai Lee, Philip Ching-Tak Ip,Shirley Yuk-Wah Liu, Micah Chi-King Chan, Yue-Sun Cheung, John Wong, Paul Bo-San Lai

Trauma system in Hong Kong
Gilberto K.K. Leung

Shared decision making
Paul BS Lai

Rouviere's sulcus: Review of an anatomical landmark to prevent common bile duct injury
Kamal P. Galketiya, Christian J. Beardsley, Sivakumar Gananadha, David T. Hardman

Virtual Issue on Multi-Media Articles

Authors are invited to submit videos or images which are unique or highly illustrative of specific occurrences in surgery.

Read the Virtual Issue on recently published Multi-Media Articles

Best Original Paper Award

The Best Paper in 2015 had been selected from all original papers that were published in the 4 issues of Surgical Practice on the recommendation of the expert panel consisting of members of the Editorial Board of the Surgical Practice.

The two Best Original Paper Awards for the year 2015 go to:

Dr John Wong (Co-authors: Dr Danny Tat-Ming Chan, Yuk-Him Tam, Prof. Simon Siu-Man Ng, Dr Philip Ching-Tak Ip, Dr Wing-Wah Leung and Prof. Paul Bo-San Lai) from the Prince of Wales Hospital, Hong Kong SAR, China for their work titled “Audit on surgical patients’ understanding of their informed consent”. The manuscript was published in Volume 19, Issue 2, May 2015, Pages 48-59.


Dr Patrick Ho-Yu Chung (Co-authors: Dr Kenneth Kak-Yuen Wong, Dr Jessie Ling Leung, Prof. Paul Kwong-Hang Tam, Dr Kenneth Lap-Yan Chung, Dr Michael Wai-Yip Leung, Dr Nicholas Sih-Yin Chao, Dr Kelvin Kam-Wing Liu, Dr Bess Siu-Yan Tsui, Dr Edwin Kin-Wai Chan, Dr Peter Yuk-Him Tam and Dr Kim-Hung Lee) from the Queen Mary Hospital, the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, the United Christian Hospital and the Prince of Wales Hospital, Hong Kong SAR, China for their work titled “Clinical and manometric evaluations of anorectal function in patients after transanal endorectal pull-through operation for Hirschsprung's disease: A multicentre study”. The manuscript was published in Volume 19, Issue 3, August 2015, Pages 113-119.