South African Journal of Economics

Cover image for Vol. 84 Issue 2

Edited By: Steve Koch

Impact Factor: 0.441

ISI Journal Citation Reports © Ranking: 2015: 268/344 (Economics)

Online ISSN: 1813-6982

Society Information

The Economic Society of South Africa



Philippe Burger

President elect:
SA du Plessis

Vice President:
M Mnyande

Honorary Secretary:
P Perkins

Honorary Treasurer:
A Pretorious

The Economic Society of South Africa was established in 1925 and is a discussion forum for economists in academic life, government and business. It has a history of membership from Cabinet Ministers, Governors of the Reserve Bank, Chief Executives of Companies, Directors-General of Government Departments, Academic Leaders and prominent Economists. There are currently 619 members and 9 branches throughout South Africa.

Never before in the history of South Africa or the Society has it been more important to broaden the understanding of economic principles and policies, thus underpinning the enhancement of the economic well-being of all South Africans. The Economic Society is well placed to strike a balance between theoretical and practical views and to involve all groupings in the country in debating economic issues in a non-negotiating, non-aligned and non-threatening fashion. To support this initiative is to make a major contribution to capacity building in the country.

Members of the Society receive the South African Journal of Economics as part of their membership.

For more information about the Society visit
If you would like to apply to join the society an application form is available here.