Society Awards

On this page you will find a list of awards offered by our society partners related to ecology, conservation and evolution.

Click the links below to jump to each section:

American Water Resources Association | Association for Tropical Biology Conservation |
British Ecological Society | Ecological Society of Australia |
European Society of Evolutionary Biology | International Society for Industrial Ecology
Linnean Society | Mammal Society | New Phytologist Trust |
National Ground Water Association | Nordic Society Oikos |
Resource Modeling Association | Society for Conservation Biology |
Society for Ecological Restoration | Society for Experimental Biology |
Society for Vector Ecology | The Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry |
The Wildlife Society

 AWRA logo

American Water Resources Association
Fellow Member Award
Mary H. Marsh Medal
Honorary Member Award
Sandor C. Csallany Award
Icko Iben Award
William C. Ackermann Medal
Henry P. Caulfield, Jr., Medal
A. Ivan Johnson Award
More information on all awards

;ATBC logo

Association for Tropical Biology Conservation (ATBC):
Alwyn Gentry Award for Best Student Paper
More information

Luis F. Bacardi Advances in Tropical Conservation Award
More information

 British Ecological Society logo

British Ecological Society

The BES Photographic Competition
Honorary Membership of the Society
The President's Medal
The Marsh Award for Ecology
The Marsh Ecology Book of the Year Award
Marsh Award for Climate Change Research
The BES Award
The Tansley Lecture
The BES Lecture
The Founders' Prize
The Anne Keymer Prize
Prize for the Best Paper by a Young Author
Prize for the Best Poster at the Annual Meeting
Prize for the Best Poster at a Symposium Meeting
Ecological Engagement Award

Best Paper Awards

The Harper Prize (Journal of Ecology)
The Elton Prize (Journal of Animal Ecology)
The Southwood Prize (Journal of Applied Ecology)
The Robert M.May Prize (Methods in Ecology and Evolution)
The Haldane Prize (Functional Ecology)

Ecological Society of Australia 

Ecological Society of Australia
Australian Ecology Research Award

Gold Medal of the Ecological Society of Australia:
In recognition of an ecologist who has made a substantial contribution to the study of ecology in Australia over the course of their career or
an ESA member who has made a significant contribution to the operations of the Society
To nominate a candidate for the Gold Medal, contact:

ESA Member's Service Prize

Jill Landsberg Trust fund scholarship

The Nature Conservancy Applied Conservation Award

Student Research Awards: the Society offers two rounds of grants for supporting research conducted by student members. Postgraduate and honours students conducting field or laboratory-based research may apply for these Student Research Awards to cover expenses such as field travel, research assistance, equipment or consumable

ESEB logo 

European Society for Evolutionary Biology
John Maynard Smith Prize
click on the ‘John Maynard Smith’ option in the left hand menu
Every 2 years - awarded to an outstanding young evolutionary biologist

Journal of Industrial Ecology 

International Society for Industrial Ecology (ISIE):
ISIE Society Prize
ISIE Robert Laudise Medal
More information

Linnean Society logo 

Linnean Society
The Anne Sleep Award
Awards of up to £3,000
Awarded to fund biological research in the Middle East
or Far East or Middle/Far-Eastern researchers in the UK

Mammal Society 

Mammal Society
The Acorn Ecology Prize
The Merlin Prize
The Mammal Society Award for Outstanding Contribution to Mammal Conservation
More information on all prizes

New Phytologist Trust 

New Phytologist Trust
Tansley Medal:
Awarded annually in recognition of an outstanding contribution to research in plant science by an individual in the early stages of their career
More information

National Ground Water Association 

National Ground Water Association (NGWA):
Awards of Excellence:
Ross L. Oliver Award
M. King Hubbert Award
Robert Storm Award
Life Member Award
Honorary Member Award
Technology Award
Individual Safety Advocate Award
Equipment Design Award
Ground Water Protector Award
Standard Bearer Award

Outstanding Ground Water Project Awards:
Ground Water Supply Award
Ground Water Protection Award
Ground Water Remediation Award

NGWA Divisional Awards
John Hem Award (scientists and engineers)
Keith E. Anderson Award (scientists and engineers)
Manufacturers Division Special Recognition Award
Supplier of the Year Award 

More information on all NGWA awards

Nordic Society Oikos 

Nordic Society Oikos
Per Brinck Award - Recognizes extraordinary and important contributions to the science of ecology
More information

Resource Modeling Association 

Resource Modeling Association:
Student presentation competition.
Visit Society homepage

Society for Conservation Biology 

Society for Conservation Biology:
Student Awards
Service Awards:
Edward T. LaRoe III Memorial Award
Distinguished Service Awards
Early Career Conservationist Awards
More information

SCB Africa Section - Young Women Conservation Biologists Award

Society for Ecological Restoration 

Society for Ecological Restoration:
John Rieger Award
Theodore M. Sperry Award
Golden Trowel Award
More information on all awards

Society for Experimental Biology

Society for Experimental Biology
President's Medals
More information

Society for Vector Ecology 

Society for Vector Ecology (SOVE)
Distinguished Achievement Award and Outstanding Service Award
Visit society homepage


The Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC):

Global Awards:
ET&C Best Student Paper
Founders Award
Herb Ward Exceptional Service Award
SETAC / ICA Chris Lee Award for Metals Research
SETAC / Procter & Gamble Fellowship for Doctoral Research in Environmental Science
SETAC Rachel Carson Award
Global Partners Capacity Building Award

SETAC Asia/Pacific Awards and Fellowships (under development)

SETAC Europe Awards and Fellowships:
Award for Lifetime Achievement in LCA
Best Publication Award
CEFIC Ecotoxicology Research Grant
Environmental Education Award
LCA Young Scientist Award
Return to Science Fellowship
Young Scientist Award

SETAC Latin America Awards and Fellowships (under development)

SETAC North America Awards and Fellowships

Professional Awards
Environmental Education
Eugene Kenaga
Government Service
Presidential Citations
Outstanding Regional Chapter Member
Research Fellowships
Jeff Black
SETAC / Royal Society of Chemistry Environmental Science Award
Student Awards
Minority Student
Student Travel
Best Student Presentation
Student Training Exchange Opportunity
SETAC-ACS ENVR Student Exchange Program
Elsevier Best Student Poster and Platform Presentations

The Wildlife Society

The Wildlife Society (TWS):
Aldo Leopold Memorial Award
Caesar Kleberg Award for Excellence in Applied Wildlife Research
Chapter and Student Chapter of the Year Awards
Conservation Education Award
Donald H. Rusch Memorial Game Bird Research Scholarship
Diversity Award
Excellence in Wildlife Education Award
Fellows Program
Group Achievement Award
Honorary Membership
Jim McDonough Award
Special Recognition Service Award
Student Chapter Advisor of the Year Award
TWS Wildlife Publication Awards

More information on all TWS awards